Dungeons ans Dragons a little of my History did you play?

in #life7 years ago

I remember the first time I ever heard of Dungeon and Dragons D&D as it is called, I automatically thought oh no that is a devil worshiping game because of the movie Ton Hanks made called Mazes and Monsters. I would go to my friends house this is in the mid 1980's and we would sneak into his older brothers room and take out a handful of his prized pewter miniatures and play with them until we heard him come home and we would hurriedly put them back on the shelf he kept them on.

As I got older a different friend and his parents played every Friday and Saturday night . One day they asked me if I would like to play. I thought well what the heck there can't be any harm in it and it looks fun. We started out on a module called Dark Tower. I was given a character (wizard) that his Mother hadn't played in awhile. I had no idea that the module we were playing was literally one of the hardest modules that had ever been created and and up to that point it may have been the hardest. I remember seeing the Monster Manual on the table and getting yelled out for not paying attention because I was looking at all the cool monsters and there stats.

We started the dungeon about 6 p.m. and at 2 a.m. his father who was the DM also known as the Dungeon Master said well we need to wrap up till tomorrow night.
I was hooked we used to play at least twice a week and more if time allowed. We eventually started playing what was called all nighters where you played at least 24 hours straight using the most caffeinated soda as well as caffeine pills LOL. Anyway that area is a fond memory until now I am just starting to play again and I am loving it. Are any of you old or current D&D junkies?

Sort:  

All I ever wanted to do was draw Monster Manuals. Working for TSR was my dream job. ...and then my cousin, Mark Zug, sneaked in and got a job designing "Magic the Gathering". Sigh.

That is awesome! I am a huge fan of magic the gathering. I remeber buying tons of original packs trying to get the Black Lotus but it never worked out LOL.

Congratulations @cryptoforce! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day
Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I've never played this one, been dying to, but my generation had Magick The Gathering. In my city, raids are more organized and few people play it on their own.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64512.68
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82