ONE THIRD OF YOUR MONEY IS ALREADY SPENT EVERY TIME YOU BUY A NEW CAR

in #life6 years ago

carscarscars.png

About one third of the price of a new vehicle goes back into the program for warranty.

I'm not just talking about the legitimate claims for defective parts etc. Roadside assistance is also a huge cost and they just keep stacking it on there.

What does it cost to deliver a jerry can of gas to a new car owner that's broke down 200 miles in the middle of no where? 800, 1000, 1500 or more maybe?

The claims are staggering and they keep extending the warranty periods to attract new buyers. We want more and they give it but just like our fake dollar, the value isn't there. At some point someone has to pay for all this.

They just keep building and now there are huge inventories of vehicles the world throughout. We all got cars and most of us don't want a new one every four years but the manufacturers don't see it that way...

It will be bailout after bailout.

Since when do we start rewarding companies for being shitty at business? Enough already..

Sort:  

Times are changing and I do not think we will see another bailout like we did in 2007 with GM. I heard on the news the other day that Ford will be discontinuing all car models in North America except some Mustangs; only trucks will be made by Ford because no one is buying new cars anymore. Sales have plummeted.

This "truck" bubble too will pop as new truck prices are so pumped up with hype that anyone buying a new truck today is a sure sucker, even if it is more utilitarian than a car. Anyone wanting a truck to use for actual work is going to opt for a 20 year old truck that's made tough as nails and has proven itself over the test of time, and for a tiny fraction of the price of its new counterpart.

I only drive "beaters" nowadays. I've purchased two brand new light trucks back in the day, and while I do not regret the experience, it was a huge waste of money in both cases. Funny thing was when I bought my first truck, it was far easier to obtain financing than it was to buy a used truck and I literally had no cash for a vehicle; I was flat broke and my car's clutch has just gone out on me. They took my broken down car as a down payment and I drove off the lot with a shitload of debt and a new truck, without shedding so much as a dime from a pocket. Did I lose money? Oh yeah, but it was worth it at that time in my life. I was 24, living in San Diego and things were happening - I was making money so it was appropriate to roll around in a new truck.

These days, I opt to live with as little money as I can and do things myself or at least in a much more sustainable way. Instead of a car payment, I have invested in tools and knowledge of auto mechanics and I keep my 28-year-old truck running strong as well as my little 23-year-old 4-banger Chevy Cavalier. Annual cost of ownership, not including fuel, is less than $1000 a year for both vehicles.

Congratulations @cryptocoinexam! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Enough already!!! Thats an understatement for sure.
Buy a new computer and its already outdated before you leave the store.
A new car loses about 25% of its value as you drive it off the show room floor.
Government is the worst business or (Pyramid scheme) how ever you want to look at it. ....We pay into the Canada pension plan for decade after decade....and the pension room in Ottawa is just a huge pile of "IOU'$".

I say, yes enough is enough.
On with the venus project...

https://www.thevenusproject.com/

@cryptocoinexam you were flagged by a worthless gang of trolls, so, I gave you an upvote to counteract it! Enjoy!!

Congratulations @cryptocoinexam! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @cryptocoinexam! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59446.26
ETH 2613.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41