How to Cultivate the Habit of Reading (or any other positive habit).steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)


Life follows the law of compounding, what you do repetitively shapes the outcome of your future. So the little things you do everyday matters a lot. You might not notice the changes tomorrow or next week, but do it consistently for 10, 20 years, the result becomes exponential. That’s the power of habit. Same thing applies here. To be successful in investing, or I would say in life as well, you want to become a lifelong learner and the most effective way is to read. Here are a few ways to develop a lifelong habit of reading.


In my whole life, I have known no wise people (over a broad subject matter area) who didn’t read all the time — none. Zero. You’d be amazed at how much Warren reads — and how much I read. My children laugh at me. They think I’m a book with a couple of legs sticking out.”

Charlie Munger, American business magnate


Start extremely small

The biggest obstacle from starting is the feeling of getting overwhelmed. So the way to prevent that is to start as small as possible. If you can’t floss your teeth, start with a tooth. Can you read a page a day? How about a paragraph? A sentence? Pick a target that you think it's achievable every day. It is better to do one paragraph a day than 10 pages once a week because repetition is the key as opposed to numbers. Repetition creates momentum that is the cornerstone of habit forming. You can always add more pages once reading becomes second nature. But before that, focus on the act of starting.

Create a routine

On top of starting small, you want to dedicate a space for the habit to grow or else other daily priorities will quickly crowd it out. You can pick a specific time every day or link it to an activity. This can be while you are stuck in a traffic (if you encounter that every day); right before you head to bed; while having breakfast and so on. I set my reading routine when I train to work and half an hour before bed. Having a routine creates consistency, saves you from exercising your limited willpower and increase the odds of turning it into a habit.

Reduce friction

Just as some people would place their phone somewhere out of reach to stop themselves from checking messages, having books within reach when you need them is important. You want to minimize the effort of picking up a book as much as possible. Whether that’s placing them on your desk, inside the bag, on the bedside table and so on.

Read what's interesting

Read something that interest you is more important than the quality of the material. You want to create a pleasurable reading experience right from the start. While it is true we should always read books that are above our level, doing that too early can create a painful experience that discourages repetition. Picking up a great book like The Wealth of Nations by Adam Smith sounds ideal, but it will not do much good to your motivation. At the same time, if you lose interest halfway through a book, it is fine to put it down instead of slogging through the remaining pages. You can pick it up later when you are ready.

These methods are not only applicable to reading but any positive habits that you wish to nurture. Turning something into a habit is always hard at the beginning since it takes conscious, deliberate effort to keep it going. But knowing how our brain works and have a few ways to work around it can improve the odds of success. And once your brain adapts to the new habit, it will become effortless.

Lots of love,

Cryptochindian.

Sort:  

hello, my name is chris I am from Los Angeles and I am happy to meet so many cool readers on here.

thanks to you, I am going to start a new reading chain! thank you fo the inspiration! What are some of your favorite books?

Loading...

I am a big fan of reading as a way of consuming content as well. I do struggle to keep up with a healthy habit of reading , so:
what is your reading routine ?

Yeah, same here. I'm still tying out audiobooks, but I haven't gotten used to it yet.

I usually plan what books to read ahead of time, and give myself a timeframe to finish it ( I don't always stick to the time frame). But I will read things that I am genuinely interested, now being cryptocurrency and blockchain!

Be patient. It takes time, at least 21 days to form a habit.

Yea, agree, but does it take 21 days to get out of a bad habit? I.e smoking?

Smoking probably will take more time cause it's embedded deeper inside. The more strong it is the habit the more difficult it is to get rid of it.

Yes fully agree. Thanks for the wise words. Are you an avid reader?

No , not really. Yet, I am a learner. When something interests me I go deep. For example Steemit. I've read a lot and I've seen hours of videos and tutorials . :)

I see. What have you learnt about Steemit? The main'negative' concencus is that it's a ponzi, and can't sustain in the long term. Any thoughts on that from your research?

Nobody knows if Steemit will be here in five years. Sites way bigger have failed and way smaller have succeeded.
I am pretty confident it will be around for a couple of years at least .
It’s not a ponzi or pyramid because there aren’t members below you to pay you with their money . Bitconnect is more of a ponzi . But I’ll read any arguments of the contrary.

that is an excellent point.

I have a question about the platform:

who runs it if the witnesses all decide to bail?

what will happen to your steempower then?

yup, sikit sikit lama lama jadi bukit

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Good read! It's true that many people don't read books, but they they do read any materials in their smartphones. I still prefers the good olde times with my books. Cheers!
I've Resteemed and followed.

Haha agreed, even more so with the uprising of audiobooks. Many people prefer to listen than to read. I guess it is easier for some.

Congratulations @cryptochindian! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Reading is by far the best habit I've ever developed. I'll stop when I'm dead at this point...lol!

Haha, yeah @adamtilsley. Keep it up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60811.44
ETH 2350.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52