You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I am back from 👽Christchurch... 🤣 recharged!

in #life6 years ago

hi @forykw

I didn't hear from you in a while so I decided to check your blog to see if you're still active or taking a break.

Im glad to see tht you're still around. Obviously upvoted :)

ps. I wanted to ask you a question. You mind telling me what's your view on latest HF20 introduced on steemit? Did it affect you in any way?

Obviously upvoted.
Yours, Piotr

Sort:  

Hi there,

Been quite busy lately for obvious reasons. But soon I might become a bit more active. Real job has been quite a massive slice of my time, but on top of that, it has been also a roller coaster in terms of learning and bringing up @eosocenania, among other personal stuff.

Anyway... towards your question. Yes indeed, lots of people have been affected by the HF20, mostly because of the resource credits that went negative in such quantity, that prevented a great lot of people to do anything. Myself included. So, unless you where a Whale or very healthy Dolphin, you would not be able to do basically anything, no voting, not downvoting, no posting, no claiming, transfers, etc... nothing.

I have my own opinions about how many called the HF20 "Successful", but I also don't concur to the related "lack of.... many things" of witnesses decision when going ahead. Might we remind everyone at this point, that this is Beta software... aka, not a product that people BUY and are guaranteed some outcomes (otherwise law protects people here). On blockchain, there is no law... Nevertheless, this is also not the expected outcome from STEEM witnesses (I am sure), and decisively not to its users. But coming from the enterprise world, I know that sometimes (or let me rather say, most of the times) the reason for something to happen is not as obvious as the reasons everyone observes. And if we think a couple minutes before making judgments (not attacking anyone here, just making a generalisation), we might come up with some questions, among the most useful I think everyone should ask is, "why has this happened?" - and if the obvious answer to that is because everyone is a clumsy witness, then maybe "you" (the person that think that way) don't really understand why you are in this platform.

In sum, I am certain there are more we don't know and the reason for all the trouble has a "strategic" justification. Which most might not agree, but that sometimes can happen.

I think HF20 was a good move. The RC and Voting Mana had some changes, mostly I believe to be positive, so far. The unlimited edits is also another one that most people are not aware... but in the essence, this is a preparation to the SMTs... therefore, probably the "strategic" why of the enforcing fork.

I had a post about it on here a two weeks ago, but essentially everything I read is on the release statements on GitHub.

We are now on version 0.20.5 but there are still some people "recovering" their nodes (especially replaying). So, I would say, a week or two more, to start seeing mass stability.

Anyway... dinner time to me. See you around.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50