Most powerful thing a homeless man ever said to me.

in #life7 years ago

I’m going to Applebees!”

“I’m going to get myself a hot meal.”

He said this as he smiled.

It was a half-edentulous smile, but the happiest one I had seen in a long while.

I had met him about 10 days ago, while I was traveling to Bangalore.

He’d asked for some money as I was coming out of a grocery store.

I’d only had a 50 rupees in my wallet, so I gladly parted with it.

He’d said he wanted to go the Dollar Store and buy some food.

I’d felt sad as I watched him walk away.

I went to the ATM, withdrew 500 rupees, tracked him down in the Dollar store, pretended to shake his hand, and gave him the money.

I watched him slowly get the bill out of his hand, and stretch them out, incredulous.

He gave me a hug.

He hadn’t had any hot food in days.

We exchanged a fist bump.

“Pay it forward,” I said.

He nodded and smiled.

He followed me to my car. He had a lot to say. It was clear that no one had listened to him in a long time.

He talked about life, about India, about Modi

He thanked me a million times.

We said goodbye a million times.

Then we finally went each our way, and he disappeared into the night.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61634.81
ETH 2971.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49