What it means to be happy and how to be happy

in #life6 years ago

I've gone through these past few days trying to think about happiness and what it truly means to me. And I didn't know until recently what makes me happy, and what I can do be happy each and every day.

When I was younger I felt that getting new toys or things would bring me happiness. I had a rough childhood in the sense that my parents constantly fought having shouting matches so much of my early adolescent life. I remember at 6 years old wanting to be at school rather than at home because my parents yelling and arguments were to much for me. I took towards spending my chore money on things that would make me "happy". A brand new video game, or a CD from my favorite band. It took me 20+ years to figure out that these things were and are just bandaids.

Screen Shot 2018-10-03 at 9.04.22 PM.png

If you are searching for happiness through physical things or goods it won't bring you happiness in my experience. You'll be like the 6 year old me riding a high of buying a new Backstreet Boys CD only to fall back down to earth hearing your parents' ear-shattering-shouting matches. If you aren't happy with the social part of your life or your daily routine it's hard to be happy in other parts of it.

I've learned also recently some people aren't worth keeping in your life. You shouldn't keep people who make your life more difficult or more unpleasant in your life. It's not good for your self esteem or your wellbeing. Cutting out a manipulative or a mean friend can be one of the best things you can do. It can make you realize how much better off you are without that person bringing darkness into your life.

People need to be happy with who they are as a person, but you also need to recognize that you need to do what is best for yourself sometimes. You need to take a step back and realize that things don't need to keep being bad or worse. Things can better over time, and if you are willing to make changes and adapt to what comes your way you will be prepared for what comes your way.

The best thing people can do to be happy is by surrounding themselves with the best people possible. This will make it so you are upbeat and joyful by their presence. This should be true for your significant other or friends and family. Good people are hard to come by and their time may be scarce, but cherish it and keep these people close. You'll be okay if the people around you are as wonderful as yourself and give you what you deserve as a person which is to be treated with respect, dignity, and happiness by just being in their presence.

I just wanted to touch on these things because I used to think online shopping for things I didn't need brought me happiness, but I soon learned that's not what brings me happiness. I am made happy by the people around me, and again it's important for you have a good friend and family net around yourself to be happy. They say making one new good friend can increase your happiness 10%, and earning extra money can increase it 1%. If you get more friends or meaningful connections you will find yourself happier in the end.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61639.07
ETH 2982.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46