The (Mostly) True Memoirs of a (Not-So) Average High-Schooler [The Hangover]

in #life7 years ago

 I am gluten-intolerant. And goshdarndit no matter how much I pretend I'm not, I always, always crash. Phooey.

I imagine it's alot like a hangover, the drowsiness, mental fog, lack of motivation. Maybe not, hopefully I'll never know from experience. I'm totally cool with a Dr. Pepper thanks. Besides, who needs Budweiser when you have Little Caesars...Like 6 pieces of it. Plus a root beer, plus a heaping bowl of ice cream, plus two pop tarts, plus a lot of Andes, plus....You know it's really no wonder why I feel awful when you think about it. At least I can just sit in my room and listen to Spotify and take a sick day right? No? How about a boatload of laundry, and we dump water on your phone? Yes? Sweet. Oh, and the autistic 10 yr old is going to mess up your room. How, you might ask? Oh boy...

I get out of bed with a migraine. A bad one too. Maybe it's from the fact that Jack (2 yrs old) is screaming like a guy with a broken femur. Hmmm. Who is also in labor. Yup, thats the level. Well anyway, apparently he just needed some music, the kid loves Skillet, and so Skillet it is. Maybe its just me, but I find it hard to understand waking up at 6 am with such a craving for rock music that I just start screaming. Funny kid.

So I took him out to do chores, we got a swingset in the back, and he usually stays happy for the 30 minutes it takes to do chores. It's still barely warm enough for him, and I didn't need him waking anyone else up. Got chores done and came in to do breakfast, set the phone on the charger next to the fridge, where I often put it. Nothing special here, except for the 12 oz of icy, destructive, hydration compound sitting there, evidentally waiting to destroy any devices to come within reach. Destroy it did. Super soaked it, and left it completely unresponsive, and dead. Rice and freezers were no match for the power of plain old water. Well, it needed a screen cleaning anyway I suppose. 

Then the laundry, basket after basket, I think there were 8, that w'all had to fold (W'all is like Y'all except with "We" instead of "You"). That got done, then we realize Gabe is gone. Who's Gabe? He is the autistic, ten-year-old, not-potty-trained sibling, and he went off alone. You can see where this is going. 

2 hours later...

I know I am taking care of Jesus in "the least of these," but I am 99% sure He would NEVER do that. Its bad enough at 2, but at 10 it is just horrible. Common Gabe, you been listening to Frozen music way too much. Well, so much for making there be less laundry. We did eventually get it all done, and then we were told mother was baking the entire rest of the afternoon. So from 2-9 PM I was doing dishes or watching the youngers. On the plus side, mom made Tomato Bisque, which is just about the best thing on the planet. Indeed I like my life, whether or not I "should." However hard gluten-free can make it. I try to enjoy this part of my time on earth while I can, because someday, life will not be so simple, and I cannot say I look forward to that.

zzzzzzZZZZZZZ


Sort:  

Congratulations @crimsonsalvation! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58270.16
ETH 2600.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39