You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: In Defense of the Fangirl

in #life6 years ago

I an in complete agreement. For far too long we have been told, and too often have internalized, exactly how we should think, feel and behave, with our own wants, passions and needs either marginalized or denied altogether.

I am a decided fangirl of certain artists, writers and projects, particularly of British musician and producer Steven Wilson, and his many and varied projects, about whom I have posted several times already.

Marek, who introduced me to Wilson's music, has called me obsessed, which even I readily admit isn't far from the truth.

But he is also proud of me, while finding it amusing, because I frequently introduce other people to Wilson's music, and those artists in his musical galaxy, such as Riverside, Lunatic Soul, Dead Can Dance And King Crimson. And when it comes to music, I'll start a conversation with anyone anywhere, and frequently have. ;-)

The bottom line, as in everything human, is to be true to ourselves, and to limit contact with those in our world who would deny us that choice. Sometimes being true to ourselves means having to walk away from someone or something we love, but which is no longer in our best interest.

Difficult, but sometimes necessary, and our lives can become much richer as a result.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60728.44
ETH 2653.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59