You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pants are Optional 5 Questions Challenge

in #life6 years ago

Fabulous answers, and pretty much in line with the answers I would give, including your visual. ;-)

Totally with you on #1, and for the same reason. Most of the bullying I got was nonphysical, but I did get slapped a few times, and it never failed to make me lose respect for the person doing the slapping.
I mean, if that's your choice of an appropriate response to anything, you have a long way to go.

For myself, I choose peace, and walked away from those trying to pick fights with me. And yes, I fully understand how lucky I am to have been in the position to walk away.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Hi! Thanks - and I'm sorry that you went through the same thing... though you have to say it certainly changes your outlook on life and what's important and who is important to you. I was the same for many years- choosing peace and walking away. But about 7 years into it, I was slapped and saw red. I lost control and I knocked out my bully with one swift punch. I was never bullied again. Oops! :) E x

Good for you!!! And I mean that sincerely.

At 5'2" tall, I wasn't convinced I could do the same, especially since most of my bullies were a LOT bigger than I was, and I was pretty certain that I'd just piss them off even more.

So, cowardice being the better part of valor, I chose not to fight. ;-)

I do agree that it changes your perspective, pretty drastically, and in my case made me both more compassionate, and more unwilling to put up with that crap, or to stand by and see it done to others.

Haha- thank you! It certainly gave me a bit of a reputation for a while... but frankly, I rather liked being left to my own devices after it had happened!

I'm nearer 6ft - it was my bullies that were the shorter ones. That was the problem when I snapped. I'm quite strong so I was just thankful I didn't do serious damage to the girl!

And you're so right, it does change perspective- I cannot stand to see it being done to others- but I definitely still have that button where I submit to bullying behaviour- it still has the power to knock the wind out of my sails, and I have to remind myself that I'm now in my 30s- not in my teens- and that I don't have to take it anymore! Strange how these things can impact us for a lifetime!

E x

They can indeed.

Then again, I'm grateful for all that has happened in my life, because everything has taught me, and has made me who I am today. For better or worse, lol!

My husband was more in your camp, at 6' 3" he was constantly challenged by other guys, but when they really pushed him, usually all he had to do was to stand up, and they would generally fade into the woodwork. ;-)

Which was a good thing in the long run because, truly, he is naturally one of the gentlest souls I've ever known. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65744.86
ETH 3466.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62