Top Brass Want *US* At The 2017 San Diego Maker Faire

in #life7 years ago

We've accepted their invitation to exhibit.

Fellow Steemians, won't you join us on October 7th and 8th in San Diego?

The San Diego Maker Faire is held in San Diego's amazing 1200 acre Balboa Park.


"The most dangerous notion a young man can acquire is that there is no more room for originality."
- Henry Ford -


Making is compelling.

If you make things, you know what I mean.
If you don't, isn't it time you got started?
Everyone can make something.

Table of Contents

San Diego Maker Faire 2017

Maker Faire is a growing global phenomenon.

We last exhibited at the San Diego Maker Faire in 2013. That year the Faire was held at the Del Mar Fairgrounds, venue for the annual San Diego County Fair.

I've watched the San Diego Maker Faire grow year by year into the very large, robust, and exiting event it is today. I don't think you could hope for a nicer venue than world renowned Balboa Park.

San Diego Maker Faire 2017 via YouTube

At our Maker Faire exhibit,

this year we'll be showcasing how we fabricate the SILVERengines proton.

The title of our exhibit is:


"We Made Our Cottage Industry Infinitely Scalable With 3-D Printed Tooling"


Not only is it economical to 3D print our product, we 3D print our tools as well.

3D printed tooling makes it possible to expand our cottage fabrication industry rapidly as product demand increases. A complete "FabUnit" fits in a small room or shed.

It's all about scalability.

The purpose of our exhibit is to encourage makers to not only use "maker tools" for their product development, but for production and manufacturing engineering tasks as well.

Our exhibit also illustrates how rapid expansion can be accomplished without huge capital outlays for manufacturing facilities.

Table of Contents

Making Cottage Industry Infinitely Scalable
Original Image by @creatr

We didn't stop with 3D printing the cases for our product —

we also use the 3D printer to build custom tooling and fixtures.

This way, we can expand our cottage industry on demand.

Each "Fabrication Unit" (FabUnit) is comprised of one 3D printer and a handful of easily replicated fixtures, including several printable jigs and tools. A notebook containing complete step-by-step documentation makes training new workers a snap.

Fab Units are modular by design.

One FabUnit is capable of producing up to 2500 ready to ship products per year. The entire production facility can be set up in a small bedroom or shed. Product orders are drop-shipped from any FabUnit that has finished product in stock.

At our exhibit,

you can learn how to scale up production by cloning a small operation instead of becoming a huge, monolithic entity.

I hope you'll stop by our booth.

When you do, please introduce yourself.

I'm @creatr,

and I'm looking forward to meeting you in person.


~FIN~


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

Intriguing article. Yes I have heard of 3D Printing. Would love to stop by should I be in the area. Thanks for another great article my friend. - Blessings.

Thanks, Troy!

Congratulations @creatr! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Good luck, can people buy your product or try it?

Thanks, Karen...

For this show, it will be entirely demonstrations of the manufacturing process. I won't have anything for sale at the show. However, I think it will give me some good exposure. There could be follow-on sales after the show, I hope. ;)

I hope so, I'll keep everything crossed for you :)

Thank you, dear! :D

You are always welcome :)

I'm so behind on catching up with you!!! I'm so sorry I haven't visited in a bit. I'm too far east to visit your booth. I hope you have a great event and lots of visitors.

Hey, friend! No worries! I'm a slug myself, and need to "get around" more.

I'm almost on the verge of throwing in the towel and hiring a robot to vote for my favorite people, because I'm so "hit or miss" all the time.

Thanks for dropping by and saying Hi! ;)

I haven't heard from @creatr for a while, I'll search him....
Bam - posted 27 minutes ago.
We have a wavelength going on, I think.
I'm over 8000 miles from San Diego, so I don't think I can make it :)

Hey, Matt! So glad you dropped by!

You don't post enough these days... But more than I've caught. I need to do an update of my Steemit tickler file so that I'll get around to your blog more regularly.

Thanks for considering the trip to San Diego. When we have Personal Global Transports available, an 8K journey will be no big deal... ;)

Nice to hear from you. Take care!

Thanks mate. They're ready when they're ready. I have a big one brewing, but 3 young kids and busy nightshifts = zombie.

Boy, do I understand...

I woke up at 2AM and couldn't turn of the brain, so I'm sitting here working... ;)

What kind of work do you do on a night shift?

Social media consultant for a big Australian company. It's half way between an entry-level call centre gig, and a top level media spokesperson role. Sort of both.
Very interesting dynamic. I've never been happier, to be honest.
Steemit as a diversion is just the icing on the cake.

Cool! Sounds like hybrid vigor... ;)

The reason Ligers are so damn big.

What do you do?

I'm an inventor...

I imagine, design, create, and build things.

Tough way to put food on the table! (At least it has been for me.) I've had to "become" an engineer to pay the bills. That started by "fixing" things, working in industrial maintenance. Then I learned to code and became a programmer... From there, learned electrical engineering to design circuits. Added PCB layout... 3D CAD, 3D printing...

I've sort of wound up able to design, package, and fabricate almost any kind of geeky thing. ;)

Nice. Lots of curiosity and skills but no bits of paper to quantify you as useful. I have a brother in law like that.
Magician with a welding torch, but doesn't have the ticket.
Makes half the money of guys with half his skill.

That's somewhat unfortunate - the compensation part.

Sounds like he needs someone to sell his services, or maybe a course in negotiation. I've (usually) been blessed to be able to get decent compensation for what I do.

"Do you see a man skillful in his work?
    He will stand before kings;
    he will not stand before obscure men."

- Proverbs 22:29

read a book once about makers that kinda rebuilt the economy after a huge collapse and your post really reminds me of that sentiment...
cannot for the life of me remember the title but it did get my interest focused on the theme for a while. Its nice to be able to create from scratch and the 3d printers are only on the brink of their expansion
So you are not only a pioneer on making but also on being a part of steemit and the cryptospace...
It really is a brave new world out there

Yes, it is quite exciting. Now, if we could only eliminate government parasites... ;)

Thanks for your comprehensive comment! Nice to "meet" you here!

Fab U lous!! Sounds like a great opportunity @creatr. I can tell you're just a tad excited about it :)

Thank you!

Maker Faire is "my kind of place." I love seeing what everyone is doing. I am hoping to make some good contacts this year, God willing, and inspire some people towards sustainability and self reliance.

I noted John's reply....and I said to myself...."self?" ... maybe I should UPS him to you for a few days. lol.....He needs to get out of the house and meet people in real time....know what I mean? lol

Hahahaha! Sure! Send John to San Diego for an adventure! I'll take him surfing... ;)

That would be photo worthy. If you could stop laughing long enough to keep the camera still.....on boy. My bucket list is complete :)

For sure, I would love for the two of you to meet, seriously.

I wish I could be there, @creatr - We could go out for a few draft beers and talk about life. We might even go night surfing ...Um, no - I'd drown LOL!!

Hahahahahaha!

The beers sound great... And we could go sit at Torrey Pines and watch the paragliders fly along the cliffs.

Or go for a hike along the beach. Or almost anything that you think you might enjoy... :D

But realistically, even if I were visiting my son in BC, San Diego is still 1400 miles away...Yeah, that's a lot of distance to cover even surfing a 50 ft wave LOL!!

You just need one of my supersonic electric personal global transports...

So do I... ;)

Screen Shot 2017-09-28 at 2.28.10 PM.png

Wow... Pricey!

Well, if you'd be willing to "babysit" my booth for a couple of hours at some point during either or both days, I could possibly get you in as my booth assistant helpers? How many boys do you have?

Think about it, and discuss... ;)

Thanks for the heads up. That is not too far from the pad. If its not a great flying day, I may bring my boys down there. Looks like fun.

Cool! Hope you can "make" it... ;)

I just realized that you are going to be working this during the #steemdiego meet-up on October 6th. Insert cry face emoji here

No, I don't think so.

At least, not if I get off my

[ insert favorite term for lower posterior nether regions here ]

and have all my show prep done for the weekend before Friday evening!

I actually should probably spend the night Friday night in San Diego...
Maybe I could sleep in the park with all the other homeless people... ;)

Hey, thanks for organizing this! Should be AWESOME! :D

😄😇😄

@creatr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67416.66
ETH 3475.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67