Surfing The Time WavesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

"If we take care of the moments, the years will take care of themselves." - Maria Edgeworth

I was just five at the time.

My parents had become good friends with the neighbors several doors down the road. I remember that we had walked over to their house one evening after dad came home from work. The plan was that we would help them paint the attic.

Time Marches On

Time Marches On
Photo courtesy of Sonja Langford and http://unsplash.com

I think they ordered us pizza for supper.

The attic had been drywalled, taped, plastered, and sanded. It was ready for a coat of paint as a finishing touch. Being only five years old at the time, there was not a lot that I was capable of. However, I wanted to help, and so the grownups let me stir the paint in a five-gallon bucket.

I recall standing over the pail which was about half my height, holding a stick in my hands, and stirring for all I was worth. As I watched the swirling pattern in the liquid paint below me, I said to myself:

"Someday, many years from now, I will remember this moment in time. When I do, it will seem as though no time has passed at all."

We were there to paint the attic.

We were there to paint the attic.
Photo courtesy of Mel Gama and https://pixabay.com

"For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven." - Solomon

Looking back at that instant,

I have often been amazed at what now seems like a precocious insight for a five year old. What passed through my mind then has certainly come to seem resoundingly true. The awareness of the truth of what I said to myself that day frequently reasserts itself in my consciousness. At random moments, I become aware that I am indeed surfing the time wave.

I only have this present moment.

The past may be real, but I am not immediately conscious of it. The future is as yet unrealized. My only reality is the present. As I write this, that reality is a keyboard beneath my fingers; a glowing screen before my eyes; a chair and floor below me, pressing upward. My conscious selection of thoughts to express, of words for this page.

Surfing The Time Wave

Surfing The Time Wave
Photo courtesy of freddie marriage and http://unsplash.com

By the time you read this, all these things will be in my past.

Writing this article will be no more than a memory.

I can't escape the present. I must simply be content, and learn to ride this wave as well as I possibly can.


~FIN~


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

You have just reminded me of an instance with paint , when I was also about 5, Thanks for the Awakening!

My friend @awgbibb, I'm glad to inadvertently and unexpectedly been of service! :) :) :)

Congrats you have been selected as Author of the day by the Steemvoter (SV) Guild, keep up the good work and helping make Steem great!

Note: You should receive many guild votes in an hour or so, enjoy!

OK, wow, just stopping in to check my blog and Yowzer! I've never seen so many votes under an article. Unreal!

Very much appreciated, Thank You @steemvoter and the entire Steemvoter Guild... :) :) :)

On behalf of all our members, you're very welcome! We enjoy being able to shine the spotlight on deserving posts. Keep up the good work!

hmm...607 votes - haven't seen that before. Congrats - Maybe this is the new Guild plan - maybe not. 41 views... hmm
I'm just not ready to get disappointed again, but I'm happy for you, my friend

Thanks, John...

I just checked in on a lark before retiring, and was BLOWN AWAY to see those numbers... I have NEVER seen anything like it on my blog before! Wow!

I learned that @remlaps nominated me for Author of the Day... :) (Thanks again, @remlaps!)

Talk about surprises.... :O :D :)

Of course, what I would really like to see is that translate into more regular readers... (sigh)

I know what you mean, but those surprises are rewarding... if the Guild only nominates one post per day they'll be few and far between. But, for today, I'm happy for you, my friend :)

i love it @creatr. glimpses of yesterdays can still come from pre-school days, some were very vivid too :)

Thanks, dear. I'm glad you enjoyed my deep philosophical musings... :) ;)

Sometimes i do ;) keep on!

I feel the same way each time I realize how much older my kids have gotten, seemingly in an instant. This post makes me wonder if they view time the same way and have the same insight that you did as a child.

Hello, @redhens. Thanks so much for stopping by! And, I appreciate your very thoughtful comments.

I hope you'll check out my Topical Table of Contents (click the GIF) and investigate various other articles. It's a little out of date, but as soon as the developers deliver the promise of editing older files, I'll be improving it. ;)

I see you're quite new here, and I hope you find Steemit to be as amazing as I have... Welcome!

😄😇😄

@creatr

jag älskar det tack

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97