Simon and Garfunkel - "Sound of Silence"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

"The words of the prophets are written on the subway walls
And tenement halls
And whisper'd in the sounds of silence"
- Paul Simon

I've not done this before.

I've not simply posted a "YouTube" video pretty much all by itself... However, when I stumbled across this relatively recent video of Simon and Garfunkel performing "Sound of Silence," I found myself moved and reminiscent.

I was introduced to Simon and Garfunkel by my friend Bob when I was about 15 years old. I thought they were OK, but they didn't "stick" with me until a couple of years later when I was in college. I have grown to love their work, and have listened to it repeatedly throughout my life.

Paul Simon is a consummate poet and musician.

His creativity inspires me. Having listened to the duo in my youth, and all my life — I think I have almost all of their early recordings, as well as most of Simon's solo work and some of Garfunkel's as well — hearing this more recent interpretation of the song stirred my emotions.

I was also intrigued to see how polished and well they worked together on the variations. Nostalgia kicked in pretty strongly, and I simply wanted to share this small piece of my life with my readers and followers.

God bless you, Paul and Art.


IMPORTANT NOTE: In the new HF18 Steemit economy with a longer-period reward pool, I really need you, my faithful readers and followers to "go back" to my blog and see what you may have missed. YOUR "LATE" UPVOTES NOW COUNT! You now have a 7-day window to up vote my work. ;)


~FIN~


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

I can't understand lyrics..dunno why.
..but that was a purty song.

Don't think we're meant to understand lyrics entirely, particularly from poets like Simon... ;)

Yes, a pretty song indeed! This particular performance of it is quite outstanding! :)

They were one of the better male duos of all time.

I couldn't agree more! It was sad to see them break up, but Simon has continued to produce amazing music.

One of my all time favorite artists. And they still sound superb today. The concert in Central Park is my favorite concert by them. And all this happened before I was born. I do envy my dad's generation at times.

One of my grandsons and my granddaughter have picked up an appreciation of S&G from me. We can all be thankful for modern recording technology now making intergenerational music possible! ;)

Ah, that was bliss. Thanks for bringing it here.

Hi, @kiwideb!

I'm so glad you enjoyed it! :) :) :D

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 02. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.09 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 02 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Wow! A whopping $0.09!

Thanks for pointing that out! :D

See you didn't just drop a link, you actually crafted a nice post around some media! Thanks for sharing it with us, and well done as always.

Hi, friend,

I appreciate your kind remarks! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59410.96
ETH 2658.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43