You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curmudgeon's Bible - Jesus and Nicodemus

in #life7 years ago

Hello, @msmith, and thanks for your visit here.

I evidently could have been clearer, because in this instance, "governing" is "flat out wrong," as you put it, and wholly misleading. Furthermore, I believe it to be an intentional corruption of the text.

About which I intend to write follow-up articles that will further explore Romans 13. When I do, I will try to "string them together" so that you and others might gain a better understanding of my perspective.

And, in retrospect, I'm finding it very difficult to grasp how you could have missed that in my article? Your further comments about my lack of clarity here would be most appreciated... ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

Sort:  

"governing" - are we looking at the same article? :)

Profuse apologies, friend... You are correct; for whatever reason, I apparently misconstrued your comment to have been in response to a different article... :O
Sorry about that!

I will now attempt an appropriate response:

My main point in this article is that, in this instance, the English reader is, unfortunately, completely oblivious to the fact that there is only one word being used in Greek. In English, we have at least three or more words that convey the general idea; wind, breeze, breath, spirit.

I suspect that our word "breath" may be closest to what the Greek mind heard. I also suspect that our word "spirit" is furthest from the "real, original meaning."

And so, in this particular instance, I wouldn't say "spirit" is a terrible translation, and I don't think the translators could really do a lot better without paraphrasing. This is more of a lament over how much is inevitably lost in translation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63242.16
ETH 3422.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41