You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curmudgeon's Bible - Jesus and Nicodemus

in #life7 years ago

Profuse apologies, friend... You are correct; for whatever reason, I apparently misconstrued your comment to have been in response to a different article... :O
Sorry about that!

I will now attempt an appropriate response:

My main point in this article is that, in this instance, the English reader is, unfortunately, completely oblivious to the fact that there is only one word being used in Greek. In English, we have at least three or more words that convey the general idea; wind, breeze, breath, spirit.

I suspect that our word "breath" may be closest to what the Greek mind heard. I also suspect that our word "spirit" is furthest from the "real, original meaning."

And so, in this particular instance, I wouldn't say "spirit" is a terrible translation, and I don't think the translators could really do a lot better without paraphrasing. This is more of a lament over how much is inevitably lost in translation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63180.80
ETH 3418.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46