Nostalgia Strikes Deep... 🍿CRACKER JACK!🍿

in #life7 years ago (edited)

"Mrs. Threadgoode pulled something out of the Cracker Jack box and all of a sudden her eyes lit up."
- Fannie Flagg in "Fried Green Tomatoes"

God bless the Dollar stores!

Are you ready for a trip down memory lane?

The other day I stumbled across a three-pack of Cracker Jack while I was meandering through the aisles of a local Dollar store. For a buck (plus the state's extortion fee) I couldn't pass it up.

Cracker Jack Nostalgia

Cracker Jack Nostalgia - Original Photo by @creatr

There was a sudden flood of old memories.

Cracker Jack was a part of my childhood. Well do I remember tearing open the box and enjoying the caramel-coated popcorn inside.

A Handful of Good Memories

A Handful of Good Memories - Original Photo by @creatr

Cracker Jack!

Mixed with shelled peanuts, it's hard to beat the sweet and nutty combination.

Every box had a *cool* prize inside...

Every box had a cool prize inside... - Original Photo by @creatr

But wait! There's more!

Every box had a cool prize inside... I think I had as much or more fun finding and playing with the prizes than I did eating the sweet treat.

I'm a *little* disappointed!

I'm a little disappointed! - Original Photo by @creatr

Back in the day, the prizes were better...

I have to confess to being a little bit disappointed with the prize I found in my box today... It's a sticker of some kind. When I opened it up, it contained an image of a baseball player and instructions for downloading a smartphone app that would interact with it.

My memory may be playing tricks on me, but I remember more substantial prizes... Things like tiny yo-yos, or even a small but functional spyglass. Sure, you can leverage smartphone tech in the modern world... but I'm still disappointed! :O

All good things come to an end...

All good things come to an end... - Original Photo by @creatr

All good things come to an end...

At least, that's true of the present age! Awww, popcorn and peanuts, All gone! :O
Thank goodness, there's a couple more boxes in reserve!

Do you remember Cracker Jack?


~FIN~


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

nice post
if you care for your kids please please see my post (the video is a must see )
https://steemit.com/life/@writemore/abduction-what-can-we-do-to-stop-it-a-must-read-for-all-parents

Thank you.

I do, although I don't recall any of the prizes they came with.

These were our favorite!! Not as good now, can someone bring back the original Cracker Jacks

Lol! Stickers...

We got stuff like whistles to drive our parents nuts with!

Yes! I forgot about the whistles! :) :) :)

The ones I'm thinking of were almost like sirens, I dunno what to call them. They had a spinning thing inside a little tube that you blew into. I'm sure we got told many times; "Go play outside!"

Yes, I remember those well. I once actually heard one of those sirens, or something remarkably like it, used as part of an Arthur Fiedler / Boston Pops orchestra performance of "Teddybear's Picnic." :D

Heh! That song is so deep in the mind already! Hearing it with sirens musta bored a hole right through! You still hear it!

The siren was sounded immediately after the word "Surprise!," if you can imagine it fitting in there so very, very well... :D

Now we know how to trigger an episode for you!

"Surprise!!"

Oh yeah I sure remember that. Sorry bout the "prize" lol. Having a freebie inside also brings this to mind. Bazooka bubble gum. Inside it had a tiny cartoon with Bazooka Joe!

Yes indeed! If I recall rightly, they've replaced good ol' Bazooka Joe with somethings else... :(

I vaguely remember that also in my youth. I opened two or three of those boxes up at Grandma's house as well. Those were good innocent days of our youth. I also remember the Meatloaf lyrics of never finding a coup De Ville in a cracker jack box. It was called Two Out of Three Ain't Bad. I miss the old treasures of the Cracker Jack Box.

I'll have to find that Meatloaf song... Thanks! :)

O the memories these pictures bring back :)
Thanks for sharing and Steem on!

Glad you enjoyed this! :D

you're just whacked up with nostalgia because you never did get a Captain Midnight decoder--if you did, you'd know where the real prizes are at LOL!!

Ah, but I have been Captain Midnight on a surfboard, surfing at night in the Red Tide! :D

Of course, I'd never turn down a Captain Midnight Secret Decoder Ring...

Which reminds me of another story to write - my plan for "The Best Secret Code EVER."

I clicked on this one just because I saw Mrs. Threadgoode and I thought Fried Green Tomatoes!! I was right. lol My husband loves cracker jacks. The prizes are always paper things these days. Very disappointing.

Hahahah.... Glad I've gotten into the habit of leading with quotes... :D

Maybe I should start a snack/toy company... I love clever little toys! :)

Sweet my friend @creatr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61825.46
ETH 2454.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60