Meet Someone Who Is Absolutely, Positively, Unequivocally, YES!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

He's all good! Can you believe it? I invite you to at least consider the outrageous possibility that I may be right about Jesus.

"For as many as are the promises of God, in Him they are yes; therefore also through Him is our Amen to the glory of God through us." - St. Paul

This is my 100% affirmative response to the latest fascinating challenge in Steemit Witness @dragosroua's marvelously entertaining and instructive "Story Telling Crash Course."

Hilariously Good News!

Hilariously Good News!
Photo courtesy of Ben White and http://unsplash.com

Is there anything in life that can be all good?

I believe there is. My friend and online mentor, Steemit Witness Dragos Roua has been presenting us with a "Story Telling Crash Course." as a series of challenge exercises. The latest exercise is to write an article on any topic that is entirely positive.

So, I said to myself, "What better topic than the positive qualities of the God I follow?"

I am of course speaking of the person who I believe is the one, true, Creator-God of the universe, who inserted himself into human history by becoming the man commonly known as Jesus.

Now I fully understand,

only some of my readers are Christians. I understand that my assertions about Jesus may be difficult for you to accept. That's completely OK!

Whatever your background, I strongly believe that we can learn from one another. As you get to know who I am through my writing, I hope you will find plenty of interesting, familiar content of personal value to you. But I also want to stretch your imagination.

Sure, all your life you've heard about this mythical-sounding person "Jesus," blah, blah, blah...

Maybe you were raised in a church? Maybe you bugged out. Maybe you've managed to stay outside of churches all of your life. But have you ever heard from a Jesus follower with the enthusiasm that I have for him?

Do you believe objective truth exists?

Jesus claims to always tell the truth:

"I speak the truth." - John 8:45

In fact, Jesus claim is so strong that he claims he is truth in human form.

Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life” - John 14:6

Is Jesus lying about this? What if you were to, just for the rest of this article, consider the possibility that he is telling the truth? If you honestly pause to consider the wonderful promises that Jesus makes to those who follow him, you will be amazed.

Jesus personifies light.

He is all light. He says:

“I am the Light of the world” - John 8:12

Jesus offers his followers peace.

"Peace I leave with you; My peace I give to you." - John 14:27

Jesus offers his followers life.

"My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me; and I give eternal life to them" - John 10:27-28

Jesus claims that he will satisfy your thirst, and make you a source of satisfaction for others.

Now on the last day, the great day of the feast, Jesus stood and cried out, saying, “If anyone is thirsty, let him come to Me and drink. He who believes in Me, as the Scripture said, ‘From his innermost being will flow rivers of living water.’” - John 7:37-38

Do you love life?

Another claim Jesus makes is that he will raise his followers from the dead.

“For this is the will of My Father, that everyone who beholds the Son and believes in Him will have eternal life, and I Myself will raise him up on the last day.” - John 6:40

Many observers watched as Jesus brought a stinking corpse, dead for the better part of a week, back to life. Those who witnessed this event include both Jesus' friends and significant enemies.

Jesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life; he who believes in Me will live even if he dies.” - John 11:25

Jesus makes many other extravagant claims. When you read about events, claims, and promises like this, you have a clear choice. You could simply dismiss them out of hand as outrageous hallucinations — the ravings of a lunatic or liar — or you could investigate them a bit further.

Could this be real?

Could someone who promises you truth, guidance, life, and peace be for real?

Someone who claims the ability to satisfy your longings? Who reportedly raised others from the dead, rose from death himself (as seen by more than 500 people), and promises to raise his followers from death to an endless life?

What's to lose?

I ask you, What do you stand to lose by taking a closer look at this incredible person?

In my humble opinion, you have everything to gain. His promises are all YES!


~FIN~


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

I just read a remarkable quote from Steemian @anotherjoe. Joe was recently interviewed by @nextgen622 and had this to say:

"So, what does it mean to be a Christian? It means we’re forgiven. We’re not better. We’re just like everyone else, but have had our relationship with our creator restored because the penalty for our sin has been completely eradicated through the work of Jesus."

I couldn't have said it better! In this article of mine (as well as others), I invite you to learn about Jesus - not because I think I'm superior to you in any way, but because he is better. Jesus is The Man, he's the person we all want to be like (once we look around and realize it!)

I always asked my students (tongue in cheek) 'who, besides me, is the authority in your life?'

The answers were interesting.

The fact is we're under the influence of somebody or something all of the time -and that's who or what's behind all the decisions we make.

For some, it's a talisman, for others, a gallup poll, and worse yet, for many it's an autocratic ruler who thinks he knows what's best for our lives.

But as for me, I want an unshakeable authority, and I know that sure ain't me.

Thankfully, I do have an authority in my life, and the fact he 's benevolent and good and loving helps, but what seals the deal is he's my father and I know I'm honoured and much loved, despite myself.

Incredible!

Thanks, John, for visiting and for your very thoughtful and thought provoking observations.

I wonder how many people actually realize, at any conscious level, that something is running their lives, either for good or ill? I'll try to remember your astute question for use in future interactions. ;)

Great post! Couldn't agree more.

as long as you believe...

Yes, indeed; belief is required. But, where does said belief come from?

"So faith comes from hearing, and hearing by the word of Christ." - Romans 10:17

Thank you for participating in the discussion! :)

I don't get this steemit thing - you wrote a well-received post, but the reward's not there. I know why for me, b/c I'm a newbie, but you deserve more. Well, not that you need another minnow, but I followed you :)

New friend @cicero, I need all the minnows I can get! I'm very happy to welcome you to my blog! :)

Just glancing at yours, I'd say you are doing amazingly well for a minnow... Congratulations!

I'm not sure that anybody really "gets this steemit thing," but you are clearly off to a great start. As a new follower, may I invite you to browse my Topical Table of Contents? Just click on the GIF below: 😄😇😄

@creatr

If you discover anything of mutual interest, I look forward to interacting with you in comments. ;)

thank you, creatr - I will

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87