How I Fixed My Wife's Oven for Less Than $35 Buck$

in #life7 years ago

"It takes half your life before you discover life is a do-it-yourself project."
- Napoleon Hill -


"If Mama ain't happy..."

Well, you husbands out there probably know how the rest of that saying goes. If you don't, you're no doubt from another planet, or have never been married.

Table of Contents

Nothin' says lovin', like fixin' Mama's oven...
Image courtesy of Taylor Grote and http://unsplash.com

"The oven's not working right."

Being an inventor and engineer, my wife ought to be able to expect me to be capable of dealing with simple issues like this, right?

My first step was to dismantle the thing. Easy peasy, right?

Turns out that just pulling the oven out of its place in the counter initiates an all-day job.

Nevertheless, I did my due-diligence, checked out the temperature sensor (proper resistance, check!), the heating element (works just fine, check!), and the internal wiring.

Checking the wiring, I discovered that power wires in one of the connectors had heated up and burned the surrounding area.

"Voila!" I thought, "This is going to do it."

I spliced the offending wires with some wire nuts, and put it all back together.

I thought for sure I had solved the problem. We're back to the "Happy Housewife's Kitchen," right?

Table of Contents

Happy Housewife Kitchen Scene
Image courtesy of Oberholster Venita and http://pixabay.com

Nope.

The wife tells me that it still isn't heating up as fast as it ought to, it's going over-temperature, and that it isn't at all repeatable or reliable.

That pretty much leaves the controller board, or some weird interaction between the control board and the temperature sensor. Do we risk investing in a new controller, only to find out that it doesn't work? What to do?

Prices for oven parts are obscene.

$30.00 for a temperature sensor?
$189.18 for the control board?
$6.44 for a screw?

Can you say, "I'm screwed?"

These prices probably rule because every last oven is different, more of a "style statement" than a precision device for cooking.

After much pain and agonizing, and not a little side commentary from my wife... ("Why is it that you can fix everybody else's stuff, but not mine?")

I had a stroke of insight out of the blue. No, not out of the blue; I'm pretty sure it was an answer to a handyman husband's desperate prayers. I figured out how to get the oven working.

Table of Contents

Oven - a recent source of my pain.
Original image by @creatr

How did I do it?

Talk about "thinking outside the box," this is literally that. I couldn't afford the Sears Kenmore brand controller, so I went to Amazon and found an off-the-shelf industrial PID temperature controller. that would do the job.

For less than $35, delivered, I got everything you can see at that link; a slick little electronic temperature controller, a thermocouple with a plenty-long lead, a 40 amp solid state relay, and a heat-sink for the relay.

I took the oven out—for what I hope will be one, last time—and installed the 40 amp, solid-state relay between the incoming 240 volt mains and the oven heating element. I used a few odds and ends that I had on hand—some wire, a few wire nuts, and a switch—and hooked it all together, using the simple diagram on the side of the PID controller as a guide.

Table of Contents

Thinking outside the box.
Original image by @creatr

It's not a perfect fix.

It's actually kind of a hack job, but I needed to get it done to "take the pressure off" if you know what I mean...

If I were doing it again, I might add a fuse or two. As it is, I'm relying on our household circuit breaker in case of a short circuit. I would also investigate incorporating some of the other existing oven components as part of the "fix," but I simply bypassed them all because they were all suspect in the oven's bad behavior to begin with.

Table of Contents

Trusty Fluke Multimeter... Never leave home without it.
Image courtesy of brianmv28 and http://pixabay.com

I'm waiting for the wife to try it.

Well, she did sit down last night and watch the temperature overshoot 350 degrees by about forty degrees F or so...

"But, honey, all thermostat circuits overshoot..."

Hmmm... some apparent skepticism...

"Dear, the PID controller will actually learn how control it better over time..."

No comment.

"When it drops back to 350 degrees, it will start holding that better."

Whew! Thank God!

It did, and—more importantly— the wife saw that it did.

Well, as long as the first cake she bakes comes out OK... We shall see!

Meanwhile, the moral of this tale is simple:

There's more than one way to skin Schrödinger's cat...

Just think "outside the box."


~FIN~


P.S. If you have an "in" with anybody at Steemit, Inc. - Would you please ask them to get rid of these damn, extremely annoying "off-website" arrow/boxes? The have, overnight, made Steemit ugly. There are much better solutions.


Find more interesting "How-To" articles on our Library Technology Shelf.
CLICK below.


Table of Contents


Table of Contents


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr
CONTACT US - Will Exchange for Steem


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

that fix seems pretty stable, but it's spring ahead time - time to change the batteries on your smoke detectors....you never know. Just sayin'. I did today, so you should too, my friend :)

Ah, but there's a sequel in the works... Wait for it!

Oh my that sounds way too complicated for my wee brain. As long as it goes it's all good :)

So far, we've only had "empty test runs."

I'm still waiting for the little woman to actually try baking something... But, I'm optimistic! ;)

Great writeup, I love to see fixes for things beyond just replacing a broken component with a new one from the vendor. Especially because it seems so many vendors charge insane prices for a replacement part.

Hey, thanks for the kind words. ;)

P.S. Welcome to Steemit...

Seems we have common interests in at least some areas. Please do drop by from time to time.

Thank you, I will. I've got a lot of projects in the works right now that hopefully I'll be able to share some helpful info on.

Nice work and savings! For sure she'll be able to make something good with it^^

Oh and... how do you know Schrodinger's cat isn't already skinned?!

Obviously because of my out-of-the-box thinking about him... ;)

lol! Nice hack!

My oven recently broke and I was about to throw it away. It shorts the electricity board out when I use the grill. Do you have any suggestions?

Offhand, my guess would be that you need to replace the grill element. I suspect that it may be shorted out.

Elements are not too hard to replace, but I would test the theory before buying one by simply disconnecting the element, turning things "on," and if it was that element the breaker won't go off...

Good luck!

Well done!

Is it fair to say your are not quite a fan of the new little squares all over Steemit LOL!

I would tell you how I really feel about the new little squares, but they would probably just shut me down... :O

hahahaha tell her that you couldn't fix my microwave...so you can't fix EVERYONE else's stuff!!! LOLOLOL

im glad you got it working hehehehe

Whether or not it actually works to her satisfaction remains to be seen... ;)

sounds like a very brilliant idea and you have been able to save money. by the way, I love the first quote you wrote about life being a DIY project.

Thanks. And the quote seemed to fit... ;)

I wish your wife luck when she kicks it on to bake! If I were her I'd be a bit fearful too lol. Sorry! I did fix my own oven once. The heating element went out on it. Found the part on ebay for $13 bucks. Fixed it myself by watching videos on youtube.

"I did fix my own oven once."

Wow! You're a real bad-ass! I'm proud of you. ;)

@creatr dealing with damaged appliances is the day to day of every home. How good that you put yourself in the task of repairing the oven. Best regards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50