Coma: A Near Death Experience and waking in a strange place

in #life7 years ago (edited)

In a few previous posts I've written about I've told you a little about PTSD and how I got that and my Traumatic Brain Injury(TBI).  This post is about being in a Coma and waking up from it.  I learned a lot about being in a Coma years after I woke up from it.  I thought it was as it happens on tv.  Someone just lays there and basically sleeps, unresponsive.  It turns out that isn't always how it goes.  Most of the time I was unconscious and appeared to be sleeping.  There were apparently a few times a day within that  two week time period I would talk to people.  Apparently I conned a lot of people into giving me backrubs.  That would be a great skill to have now.  

I don't remember the accident itself.  The first thing I remember after the accident is being in the ER.  I had no idea why I was there and frankly didn't care.  I remember the nurse feeling (palpating) my arms for injuries.  She went down my left arm and started down my right.  As she was squeezing I told her she was getting close to a painful spot.  She moved down a little and it 'felt like' she squeezed really hard.  I yelled "ow" in pain and pulled my arm back.  She apologized and told me that she had to feel the area again and mark the spot to be xrayed.  I told her ok but she had better do it softer.  BTW, I had a Traumatic Brain Injury at this time but was clueless about anything and everything at that point.  I was very angry but I didn't even know that I was angry.  Anyway she got the the point again and it "felt like' she did it even harder.  In reality she probably didn't do it very hard at all but because of my Injuries my nerves were probably in a hyper stressed mode.  I grabbed her hand off of my arm with my left hand and pulled it away.  Then with my right arm (that she hurt) I gave her an uppercut.  I'm not a violent person.  Turns out the  part of my brain that was damaged tends to make people angry and violent.  That's all I remember there.  The next memory I was in a room,  I was floating above my bed in the corner close to the sealing.  I remember looking around and everything was crisp, fresh, wonderful  and new feeling.  I could see myself.  They'd put me in a straight jacket, I'm assuming because I punched a nurse.  I looked around and saw the door cracked open.  I felt very curious, almost like a kid in a new place.  The crack got a little bigger and I saw a face.   I thought Hey, that's my brother.  Oh no, he's crying.  I wonder why he's crying.  He came back into the room and the closer he got to me the closer I got to my body.  I still had no idea what was going on I just wanted to know why my brother was so sad because it made me feel sad.  He leaned down and gave me a kiss on the forehead and at the moment I was back in my body.  I couldn't see, remember, feel or hear anything.  So that's the end of that memory.  The next memory I have is when I woke up from my coma.  It was 2 weeks later and I'd been life flighted back to a hospital back home.  I remember waking up and this strange lady was scraping something along the bottom of my foot and I kept pulling my foot back.  She gruffly asked me B, where are you?  I looked around and it looked like the Great Grandmothers room in the nursing home.  same color of wall paper, same floors, tv was in the same spot as it was in her room.  So I said Mercy Villa.  Still scraping my feet her voice got louder and more angry.  She said, No B, Where are you?  I again said mercy villa.  She started scraping my feet harder ( I know now she was checking for responsiveness in my feet ) and she got louder and repeated the same question.  Frustrated and not really sure what was going on or why she was asking.  I felt like she was being abusive and very rude.  In response I said, I don't know.  Why don't you tell me where the fuck I am.  She told me I was in the hospital.  I just remember thinking "huh, that's weird" and then I laid back down and went to sleep.  The next memory I have is I woke up,  I had a pounding headache and I remember seeing my mom and a friend of hers sitting by my bed.  I had my hand on my head and sat up and said "what happened"  Before they could even answer, something inside of me told me that my grandparents and my aunt were dead.  Then my mother explained that there had been an accident and I was the only survivor.  I laid back down and went to sleep.  I can't recall many things from my time in the hospital.  I was there for 3 weeks.  I just remember that everything felt, new, wonderful and exciting.  It was like waking up with the mind of a 5 year old in a new place.  Everything was new and interesting.  Everything appeared new, crisp and very clear.  It seems everything was beautiful as well.   It took about 3 years for things to turn around.  More to come....

Sort:  

Fantastic post! So glad you are mending. Now following you!

thank you @team101 I appreciate the follow and feedback. I don't think you've read any of my other posts. One in particular about PTSD. I'm writing this to help raise awareness for invisible disabilities by using my own story. :) I welcome any questions or feedback.

Just so very difficult for you, it gives me an insight into the newness of everything which is something I had never thought about with some one coming out of a coma. A real insight thanks.

thank you. I appreciate you and your feedback .

Congratulations @creativeusername! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Thanks for your raw and hones t account. I will read more1

Thank you laksmi. I appreciate your feedback.

Its going to take you a while to get over such a traumatic experience, talking about it on here will help. my thoughts are with you :)

thank you Karen. It was more than 2 decades ago so I've made peace with it. I'm struggling with the 'invisibilites' i have from it now. Just trying to function is difficult right now but I'm working on it.

Take one day at a time hun, don't put pressure on yourself ,your doing great :)

Thank you Karen, I appreciate all of your feedback. Maybe we could write something together some time to raise awareness about our disabilities. :)

That sounds a great idea :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60063.85
ETH 2313.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46