Steemit: Replacing all Magazines, Newspapers and Social Platforms.

in #life8 years ago (edited)


  Will Steemit replace your favourite magazines, newspapers and other social media platforms? For me the answer is, YES. 

 

As a newbie I started off spending most of my time following the trending and hot blogs to learn more about this platform. In the first week I go so tired of reading about crypto-currencies, anarchy etc., I could scream because of the “tunnel vision” mentality. Surely there are more to life than this, I thought. 

After a few weeks the emotion turned from frustration to becoming annoyed with the fact that the highest pay-outs for over a period of two weeks went to authors with a criminal record, ex drug lords or ladies using their beautiful bodies to sell their articles. I even went as far as to comment after reading a bunch of replies on one of these articles, asking where the world is heading? To me it seemed as if moral standards and principles got chucked out of the window here on Steemit too, which was highly disappointing because I thought this platform will be a good place for my children to spend their time.

 During a two-day break from Steemit, I started asking myself this question: What sells your favourite magazines and newspapers? 

After giving this great amount of thought, I realized that your top selling magazines and newspapers reeks with scandal and hype. These kinds of articles are what draws the audience: something they seldom experience, articles which triggers their curiosity, celebrities, fashion, gossip, scandals and drugs. Then only follows the business and finance, science and technology, fitness and health, and so forth. My attitude towards these articles on Steemit changed, I must humbly admit.  Would I like to read topics of my most favorite magazines here on Steemit?  Yes

My next question was: What draws us to the other social platforms like Facebook, Twitter Instagram, Tumblr and Flickr? 

As only a Facebook user, I had to tap my teenage boys for more information on the other platforms. Mostly on Facebook for me, it is forming a friend and family circle where we can share information about ourselves and keep everyone up to date simultaneously. Love the Birthday reminder functionality and the invite to events.  I got tired reading on Facebook of people being stuck in traffic and doing their dirty laundry, so it basically become only a Birthday reminder to me and every now again I will catch up with my overseas friends. 

 I never fancied twitter much as I did not enjoy the amount of gossip, negativity, and reading about things people do in their daily lives. Where are those times where certain things were sacred and secret?  Tweeting to the entire world what is going on in a 140 characters’ message is more an attention seeking activity than anything else to me, but hey, who am I to judge? Obviously people these days aren’t that busy. Instead of going outdoors, getting involved with recreational and family activities, they prefer telling the world in every little detail about things which are happening in their lives. 

 Instagram seems to be a more useful and productive platform as you can share your life via photos and videos. Instagram has filters to manipulate your photos so that they look more amazing.  They do not have a negative vibe on this platform, it is very relaxing and you can come across some exquisite and really funny photos and videos.

Conclusion:   

Steemit can combine all these functionalities from the other social platforms which will make it even more unique as the only financial rewarding platform. We can add the functionality of Instagram where we can manipulate and change our photos. Can you imagine the improvement of photo quality on our articles? Let’s make it a photographer’s paradise where users want to share their photos and make them accessible for others to use.  

Now how many of the users know about the Steem App Centre? My son happened to go into this while I was standing behind him and I was quite surprised by these application tools which I did not know about. I decided to browse and low and behold, I came across SteemImg by @blueorgy but not many of us are using it, why?

Maybe you are like me and did not go and explore the dropdown list on the right next to your profile photo on your blog. Then click on your Steem App Centre to discover the many tools available on Steemit. There are even a Steemit Help, Radio Steem, SteemWiki and many more. It will be nice to have the friend and family circle functionality of Facebook, plus invite to events with tabs where we can respond whether or not we are coming.

 

So to all the newbies and wiser people that is not as confident in exploring new technology, go to the Steem App Centre and get to know and use all the different functionalities available to us. Steemit can replace all the other social platforms, magazines and newspapers if we work together with the aim to build, grow and utilize this platform to its fullest in a positive way. 

Thumbs up though, to all the creators who endlessly work behind the scenes to improve our overall experience here on Steemit and for all they have done thus far in this Beta phase. It seems like Steemit is improving and adding more functionalities at a much faster pace. We as users must keep up to speed with all which is happening on this platform by exploring and reading.   

 

  *Keep reading, writing, voting and smiling!!**

   

Sort:  

Well Steemit has a very long way to go, from communication to social interactions. They have to find a way to push the users to interact more without the economical side being so preponderant .

i think people do interact-don't you think so?

Thank you crypohazard, I realize this and it seems to be a huge challenge. I am sure though that we will get there and also find a way to deal with new user retention.

good post, i would like to welcome all varieties though, "good bad ugly" as these are subjective and people will love what we do not

Exactly budgiebee, we all have different needs and expectations, it will be wonderful if we can meet all of them here on steemit. I would like to see it grow to the best platform in the world.

Not sure. Changes in mentality is long. Technology changes rapidly but not the spirits! This is not because we change that everyone changes.

Very true Grandpere. It is our attitude towards change that will set the pace as to how fast we are going to adjust and become part of the new generation. It doesnt mean though that we have to chuck our moralas and values out the door but we have to allow others the freedom to choose and respect their choices even though we may not agree.

Nice article mumzy. I definitely see this model as part of the future, it will probably take more than one similar "island" of publishing to get us to shift our attention away from what exists, but it's a start.

Thank you markrmorrisjr. We just need to stay positive, give our input no matter how small or insignificant we feel it might be, welcome newbies and help as much where we can and I am sure we can be part of great things happening here.

You are so right about what sells in magazines! Same stuff is followed on Steemit. So all content has its perks!

Scandal and hype sell, why? Because we like to feel the excitement and being exposed to something new and different.

Just shared on twitter Twitter✔ for my followers to read. This is a great post, now following and looking forward to seeing more of your stuff. I posted something earlier about how STEEMIT has the potential to put Facebook in the dark with a +$500 billion valuation. I know that it sounds crazy at first, but after I started to share it with my followers on Twitter they have suddenly got what STEEMIT is all about. Take a read of it, it may blow your mind. Following. Cheers. Stephen

Thank you very much stephenkendal. I appreciate your enthusiasm and approach to help steemit grow. Can you imagine the effect if we all do this? I am working on recuiting my FaceBook friends and have only four that actually joined since I started two weeks ago. Most of them think it is a scam, so it is up to us to share what they can gain from this platform. We should stop looking at the platform as only making money on our articles and curation, but as a social medium just like we do with the others. We need to use the available tools to make the most of this platform.

Steemit is improving all the time I think if it carries on the way its going it could take over Facebook.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59820.07
ETH 2408.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43