My Family Treasures - Gratitude #63steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I’ve always been sentimental, since I was a kid. Even my grandparents knew that. I’ve tried to keep everything they gave me but unfortunately, as I moved from house to house, I let go of a few things which I regret terribly.

A metal four-poster bed that belonged to my grandmother had to be given away because it wouldn’t fit the rooms of the houses we rented. My grandmother’s wooden chairs with rattan seats. My grandfather’s typewriter which we learned to type on. I loved that typewriter. What was I thinking!!! 😱 😭

Thank goodness I still have some awesome family treasures with me. Others may not think much of them but they’re special to me 😊

This old radio belonged to my parents. It was their engagement present. I really have no idea what happened to the back. I’ve tried getting it repaired but the technician said it couldn’t be done. That was a long time ago. I’m going to try again, with another technician. Hopefully he can do it.


Before I got married I rented a room and placed a mattress on the floor with this radio beside it. Every night I would place my pearl earrings beside the radio. One morning an earring went missing and I found it in the back of the radio! That freaked me out because it had probably been put there by a mouse! 😖


This is a favourite of mine. It belonged to my grandfather. I think it was a pill box. Now don’t go crazy on me when I tell you it’s made from rhinoceros horn. That was ages ago 😬


These glasses and their cases are really cool. They belonged to my great-grandfather! The frames are made of gold and are very flexible and one of the glasses is bi-focal.




These belonged to my mom. I wonder if they can be repaired. They would look so cool on my daughter 😎


These are locks? Keys? I’m not too sure but they look so medieval. I like!


These were my grandmother’s thimbles. You put them on your finger to push needles through fabric. I just noticed they have pretty designs on one end.


These very special coins belonged to my grandfather.




This beautiful vase and basin set belonged to my maternal grandmother. She knew I liked antiques so before she left for mainland China (for good) she gave these to me. There was another set, white with red flowers, that she wanted me to have but one of my cousins took them before she could stop her 😢 I’m just glad I have something of hers, with her blessing ❤️


Getting bored? I hope not. Anyway we’re almost done. These aren’t family treasures but they mean something to me.

This was my very first watch, given to me by my dad when I was about 11 or 12 years old. Titoni.


And finally, these are hair clips I used when I was 13 years old. #6 was very surprised when she saw them. She thought I’d found clips like my old ones and bought them. She was shocked when she found out they are the original! 😂


Okay, we’re done! I actually have a couple more things but I’m going to save you from boredom! 😂

 

20180516_002249_0001.png



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://crazymum.vornix.blog/2018/09/04/my-family-treasures-gratitude-63/

Sort:  

Thank you for your post. :) I have voted for you: 🎁! To call me just write @contentvoter in a comment.

Wow! I didn't realise the history behind those treasures you keep. Bring them to England and have them valued! They may be able to pay for your trip here!

Hahaha! Wishful thinking! 😝

Wow, I am really impressed how well you kept all these memorable trinkets! Your home can literally be a museum down the memory lane of your heritage @crazymum !

During moving to the city and flood back at home has caused me to lose a lot of valuable things along the way; but even if I have kept it, it won't be as interesting as yours.

upvoted

I’m so sorry you lost your valuables. It is so heart-breaking 😔

I have learned to let go of things that I doesn't serve a purpose holding on. Especially when I have moved to a smaller place, this becomes even more important.

Fine old things, if they could say - there would be a lot of interesting stories.

You are right. They would have interesting stories to tell 😊

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

I especially love this post very much! <3

Thanks 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63588.38
ETH 2595.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81