Work Work Work

in #life7 years ago

So what can I say, just anyone else unfortunately I have to work in order to survive.

I'm currently working in a call centre, not going to tell you what one as that would be too much information :P. However as anyone else who has ever worked in a call centre before, it has it's ups and downs, and even days where you just want to climb down the phone and strangle the person on the other end.

So let me give you an example i have from one a few days ago. The customer had called up to cancel their services because they weren't happy with the price of the package. Now doesn't sound very strange you might think, but just wait.

This customer lets call them Alpha, now Alpha was paying about £100 for all 3 services and had everything that we offered pretty much. So i go about my work and i have offered the customer a deal which would save them about £50 per month, however the response i get?

"You Must be Bloody Joking"

I shit you not they were actually complaining because i couldn't get the prices down any lower. I then spent the next 10 minutes listening to Alpha shout down the phone at me, complaining about MY attitude towards them and that our services were a ripoff. It was one of those customers where i wish i could have just said what i wanted to say.

However being a good employee, i bite my tongue and i resell the benefits of the package just so that Alpha can insult me and the company and request to disconnect the services because we don't value them as a customer.

Shocking!!

Oh and i should probably mention that i will be applying for a Managers role shortly, and i had actually gone and submitted my application about 2 days ago, however i had received it back yesterday just to tell me that i need to make changes to my own personal statement. Apparently for the Managers role i need to make sure that my grammar and punctuation was 100% correct as it would be expected from a Manager in the future.

Now this is a job where you need to manage a team, and most of the work is either done on a computer or on the phone. I don't think that there is going to be much need for me to be able to practice my grammar and punctuation.

And if i am honest a lot of the people that they have already hired as a Manager i don't think they really know what they are doing half of the time, and the ones that do know what they are doing don't deserve to have the role.

Now don't get me wrong, there are a few who i believe are pretty good as a Manager and they have the personality drive and experience to deserve the role, however i think the skills that they look at for hiring for this position have their priorities wrong.

Anyway, that's enough of my boring life for the time being, however i hope to make this a regular thing and hopefully who knows, maybe someone will read this in the future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66269.64
ETH 3568.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.06