The power of kindness- just some inspiration for all

in #life7 years ago

Last night I went to my local supermarket just before closing. I grabbed 2 things quickly & got in line. It was an odd mix of customers, there was only 1 cashier & he was grumpy (probably had a long day and ready to go home). An elderly man still wearing dirty work clothes had a fairly large amount of groceries mainly made up of frozen meals. He seemed very tired mentally & physically from a long work day. Suddenly he realized he didn’t have enough money ($54 for an $72 total). The cashier was asking which items he wanted to put back. The checkout line was growing & the man was frustrated. The woman in front of me suddenly dropped a $20 bill on the floor without the man or cashier noticing, then said "sir, you dropped something". As he spotted the bill she bent down & picked it up. He thanked her & seemed to believe he had dropped & said "oh, I do have enough". This woman didn’t just help him buy his groceries, she did so in a way that maintained his dignity. She didn’t want credit, she just wanted to help. I loved her act of selflessness. This is who I want to be when I grow up.

Sort:  

Welcome

welcome! Im glad youve decided to joined the party!

Long live and prosper.

Interesting bro

You can be that person. It's just a matter of doing it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69500.15
ETH 3394.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75