We Americans Work Too Much!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

"When I'm not at work, I need to be working."

My original quote, which I am using more often than ever before.


A scene from my not-so-distant past. Leisure time has been fading out of my life.

I have often heard that Americans work more than anyone else. It's not exactly something to be proud of. We are working ourselves to death just so we can spend, and spend more. It's an unhealthy lifestyle that robs us of quality of life and happiness.

I used to have down time. I used to have hobbies. But a series of decisions that I made have robbed me of those, and now I spend the majority of my day working, with little energy left for family or other interests.

I work around 50 hours at my job each week. My only day off is Sunday. On top of that, I made the foolish decision to remodel our entire house by myself. My wife and I purchased around $33,000 worth of materials for our home, so there is no backing out of this project. I have to complete it. So that means every day after work, and all weekend long, I need to be making progress on our home. I always feel like I am in a race against time.

But my situation is not permanent. I am determined to live a more fulfilling life.

However, it is going to take a few more years of hard work and long days to finish the project I started. Once it is complete, my intent is to pick up the hobbies I left behind, and make some fun memories with my boys while they are still young and live at home. I fear becoming a man whose children hardly know him, because he was too busy working and trying to get ahead. That would be a tragedy.

Sort:  

It's sad we live in a society where we spend more time earning a living than living a life.

It really is! I give so much energy to my job that I have very little left for my family. That is definitely a problem.

A sad truth. I hope you'll get to free up some of your time to spend with you family!

Thank you! I hope to as well. It won't be easy to accomplish.

vacation.gif
Remember the good old days when we didn't have all this technology to make life easier and give us more time off.

At least you realize it, have a plan, and things will get better. In the end, you'll be glad you have a house you can enjoy for many years. You'll be fine.

It's beautiful post!!
Exchellent work :)

This is a peaceful place for relaxing indeed! Cheer up and take good care of your health and your family! ;)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Mar 07. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.57 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 07 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00