You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: THE LONG, STRANGE JOURNEY HOME - Part 6 of 6 - HOUSE CHURCH

in #life8 years ago

I already respected you as a great contributor here on Steemit. But I respect you much more for boldly expressing your faith. I, too, believe that Jesus died for my sins and has risen from the grave. I have eternal life through Him, and praise God for that gift.

I have written some posts about God and Christianity before. And I did fear losing followers, or getting flagged by hostile unbelievers, but the way I see it is that the Bible tells us we will be persecuted for our beliefs and that people will hate us and our views. We should proclaim our faith in Jesus anyway, with no fear of negative consequences.

I would like to argue one point, however. Jesus is an attractive man. While I am heterosexual and strongly attracted to my wife, I do not fear saying that Jesus is strikingly handsome. The painting Prince of Peace, according to what I have read, is described as the most accurate portrayal of the face of Jesus known to exist. This is according to children who have come close to death and were miraculously brought back to life. Jesus' eyes are described as being beautiful and calming, unlike those of anyone else.

I would love to join in discussion on many more points and topics, but I have two little kids who are about to wake up and I have to be Daddy. Thank you for sharing your beliefs. I am looking forward to future posts! God bless you and your family.

Sort:  

Excellent!

I appreciate all that you shared.

Isaiah 53:2 tells us that Jesus, in the flesh, was not attractive or pleasant to look at.

He is "beautiful" because of who He is and what He did, not what He looked like.

Check out that verse and let me know what you think.

Thank you.

I see how you could draw that conclusion from that passage.

Would you be able to draw a different conclusion in light of that passage?

Not trying to be contentious, just seeking and wondering.

Perhaps not. It's just that it contradicts all other accounts I have heard about Jesus' image. I could bring it up with my church group.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57941.45
ETH 2579.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39