Great High School Memories in a 1960 Austin Healey SpritesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life8 years ago

This tiny little car made some big memories during my younger days.

It is one of two Austin Healey Sprites that my dad owned. I learned how to drive a manual transmission in this particular car, and I borrowed it every chance I could. I drove it to school some days, and I took it to prom my junior year, as seen in this poorly-cropped photo below.

With only a 940 cc engine, it wasn't a muscle car, but it weighed very little and could zip through town and take corners with ease. His other Healey, also a 1960, had a larger 1200 cc engine. I borrowed that car more during my senior year. I will share photos of it once I find them in my various photo albums.

Dad no longer has either of the Healeys. Once he moved to an acreage on a gravel road, he decided to sell them. Even though they are gone, they left me with some great memories of a less hectic time in my life.

Sort:  

A Frogeye! Nice.

Yep! Dad called them Bugeyes, too.

Did he also have a big Healey?

Which model is that? He only had two Sprites.

The official name of its last incarnation is Austin-Healey 3000 MKIII BJ8, see http://www.autosnout.com/Car-Performance-Statistics.php?Specs&EditionID=802 . Same brand, very different car.

Great car...I had a fiat spider... loved it, except needing a fuel pump every 6 or so months.

I'm sure those weren't cheap!

Nope 500 each time...and that was back when 500 was a lot.

what a sweet ride!

Thanks! I wish I could buy it back, but I have no idea where it is now.

Hi @countryinspired, I would love to have that car today.

So would I! I miss them!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Mar 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.41 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 08 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63099.62
ETH 2555.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83