A Burning HousesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

20170724_181521.jpg

Last month as I drove home I saw a towering column of smoke and knew something large was burning. I stopped to watch a house as it burned to the ground. At first I thought this was a tragic accident, but soon realized it was an intentional burn done by the local fire department.

20170724_183058.jpg

20170724_183940.jpg

I drove home to pick up my boys and brought them back to watch the fire. We arrived in time to see the second floor collapse onto the first, intensifying the ball of fire. The fire department kept soaking the surrounding trees to keep them from burning, although some damage was still done to them.

20170725_173321.jpg

20170725_173426.jpg

The reason for burning the house was that the land has been purchased by the YMCA to build a new fitness center. They want to put an entry driveway where the house stood. Plus the home had fallen into disrepair and had likely been condemned by the city.

ID Photo (1).JPG

Sort:  

Hope your children was taught after this what to do in case of fire, they must now have seen how bad it is when something burns down.

Yes, my five-year-old son kept asking if there were kids in the house, if they got out, and if they got their toys out, too. I had to keep reassuring him that everyone got out safely and took all their belongings, too.

That was a good way to teach the boys about the dangers of a fire. Kind of scary even if it was done on purpose. 🐓🐓

Yes, indeed. We could feel the heat a block away.

Quite a blaze. I bet the boys got a charge out of it.

They were certainly interested.

That is wickedness of the highest order

sad, just sad :(

followed and upvoted you if you like foodrecipies please follow me

a very noble job

Great work, good luck and more tender

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48