You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Adventures in Pet Sitting - Weirdness

in #life8 years ago

Well that was hardly scary!! And you kept driving?? I am so glad you are okay!
A few years ago I was watching tv with my husband and I turned to ask him a question. (He had just come in from the cold and sat down to join me. He complained about a pain in his jaw. ) His face looked like it was melting on one side. Ding ding ding. The alarm bells went off in my head. I didn't want to scare him. His speech was kind of weird. I asked him to smile....only half his face engaged. Off to the hospital. Why didn't I call an ambulance? Don't know. What we do sometimes in an emergency floors me. Long story short....they were convinced he had a stroke - turns out it was Bells Palsy.

Sort:  

It was surreal. I was almost clinical about it. Curiosity instead of concern. Very hard to explain.

Oh, and the ambulance... it was quicker for us to just drive, than to wait for transport and then the trip to the ER. Our hospital is a straight shot, 2 miles from the house. Probably similar reasoning in your case, too, I'll bet. I hope your hubby recovered. Stuff like this is just overwhelming at first.

I'm very clinical about it too....so much so that I actually caused his blood pressure to go up even higher than it was....sigh. I'm a medical nerd I think - I love information about our bodies and how they work right down to the individual cells. I usually am more curious than worried when people get sick....

Some folks are just wired that way. I think it was more conditioning with me. Sis's issues started when she was 6. (I was 8.) The pattern I got used to seeing was deal with the issue in front of you, then you can fall apart later if you need to. In any case, it's a good 'skill' to have in a crunch!

Well said, it is hard to remain calm for some people in some of these situations. I am glad you are dealing with things so well. Oh and unrelated--- it is saying AGAIN on here I am not following you!!! grrr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63875.92
ETH 2747.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65