On What to Believe

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Cancer-cell.jpg

In Houston, I see these billboards.
“Cancer we have you surrounded.”

I see featured head shots of doctors

Illustrated in a traditional style
Resembling presidents on dollar bills.

SliderImages_Dr-An_72dpi.jpg

There’s other billboards
Emphasizing that cancer is losing the battle
Going extinct
By way of these great men
Running
These great facilities
That modern technology
Could only give us.

Mdanderson_logo.jpg
source

But

Dr. Bergman

and Dr. Vanderschelden

Talk about:
cancer
is not the one
going extinct.

Facilities
That are not great

Doctors
That don’t know

And an industry
That’s grown for over a century.

I see videos
That show the wealth of generations
Being protected

And I wonder

What these billboards

Were meant to advertise

To us

In the first place.

I wonder,
What to believe.

What a person believes
What a person accomplishes
What a person is regarded as

One affects the other.

I struggle for the truth
To lay the foundation for my beliefs.

Those beliefs guide my thoughts and actions
To whatever my accomplishments may be.

Those accomplishments or lack there of
Evoke feelings from others
That govern how I will be regarded.

If I see a poison world around me I might want to leave.
But
Huxley says that I’d only be changing my mode of existence.

If I take a side and rant and flame
Or
Organize and strike at the wrong
That I perceive

Would I be accomplishing the right thing?
Would my beliefs be in the right place?
Would this have the best impact on others?

Mother Theresa says that good is only done by giving support to good
Not by destroying what’s wrong.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00