Find Yourself and Be Yourself!

in #life7 years ago

Let's not imitate others.
Let's find ourselves and be ourselves.


image


Not too long ago I wasn't myself, I tried to be someone else. I tried to meet expectations of others, expectations or maybe better said fictions of my own. Today I know that this was the biggest mistake of my whole live. Fortunately I found myself this year and am experiencing a whole new strength from the inside. I feel like I finally belong, despite being alone, despite not knowing where my life will lead me. Despite all those Insecurities I'm as happy as I've never been before as I found and am myself today.


Why did I try to be someone else?
Why did I live up to expectations of others?

When I was younger I wasn't the cool guy, neither did I have any special talents from my point of view. Therefore I started to adapt the behaviour of others. I started to act like the cool kids in order to belong, to become one of them as I thought that's the way you have to be.

Growing up I always played the ape, I've been a parrot trying to imitate others just to get the appreciation or success they had.

I even got in relationships in which I always tried to live up to the expectations of my partner. I've never really been myself but always tried to be the one they were looking for. Doing so made those relationships break and left us behind dissappointed and unhappy. Especially me, as it made me feel so sick on the inside to pretend being someone else and the worst was that I knew that they always loved the person I tried to be rather than the one I am. But I just couldn't stop it...


How I managed to find and finally be myself

Like I mentioned, I just was able to find and be myself this year. The reason for this drastic change in my life was the break up with my girlfriend, which happened due to the exact above reasons.

I probably would have continued like before, gotten into a new relationship, living up to expectations, being someone else... But fortunately this girl got the courage to tell me the uncovered truth, the truth that she fell in love with the person I pretended to be but thinks that she actually doesn't know me at all. I couldn't say anything against it as she was simply right. She was right about everything.

All the time I knew it deep in my heart but I was caught in it for years and wasn't able to escape. So I went on acting until the day she shattered all the walls in the inside of me. The day she released me from the chains I put on myself, the day she made me notice that I finally have to find out who I really am.


Find yourself and be yourself!

So this year I spent just with myself, discovering all aspects of me, thinking about myself and who I am. It was the best thing that ever happened in my life. It gave back the real joy of life to me and I always will be thankful to her, this special girl, for speaking the whole truth.

In case you are pretending to be someone else or living up to expectations, then stop it. Stop it today and you will see your life improve. You only live once, so live it as yourself and not like someone else! Shatter your walls and take the chance to escape, the chance to get as happy as never before. It's easier than you think once you did the first step and everyone, but especially you deserve to live your life as yourself!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing. This is a good reminder to all of us to just be authentic.

It's really the most important at all in my opinion. Unfortunately I had to learn it the hard way but I'd still consider myself lucky as I was able to change my life after I really realised it. I will never ever again fake my behaviour for sure!

Well done mate, stepping out of the false you is quite hard, especially if you have had that other you for a long time.

Thank you. It's never easy to change yourself, especially, whenever you got your character formed over years. But it's always possible, for everyone at any time. You simply have to believe in it as that's the key to any success

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60412.47
ETH 2375.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62