Mermaid Corinna & The Whale Shark

in #life7 years ago (edited)

A life dream came true this summer: Mermaiding with whale sharks.
After taking a boat an hour out into the ocean looking for the migratory path of the whale sharks, I was first trained how to carefully approach these gigantic and beautiful sea creatures while wearing a wet suit. Then I got into the 34lbs heavy mermaid tail and swan for about 30 minutes, waiting for another one to show up...and this is what happened.
It was such an amazing experience. There was no fear. The whale sharks are so gentle and peaceful. They exude a kind of inner peace and I felt like I belonged to the sea as we swam away together.
It's been a year of conquering fears. Just a few months prior to this I had my eyes lasered in Bratislava, Slovakia. As I looked into the laser beam (and smelled my eyes burning) I kept thinking of the whale sharks I would be able to see and swim with - without contact lenses. It would have been much too dangerous otherwise...
These are the moments that we will remember when we are old and brittle. This is our time. Carpe Diem.
This video was filmed by Brian Bales near Isla Mujeres, Mexico. It was part of a photo shoot with Robert Minnick (of https://www.waybeyondproductions.com).


please watch in HD.
image

Sort:  

I bet the shark is thinking, "Wow, mermaids do exist!"

Hahaha I bet he knows they do! ;-)

badass stuff, Coco! Good thing whale sharks don't eat mermaids, haha

Hehehe nope but they told me they like to nibble on Ottileins for appetizers...

Somebody just downvoted this video and I lost $8. I think that's it for me on steemit. That's pretty obnoxious. I have a lot to offer this community. It's their loss. I'm outta here.

Wow! What an incredible opportunity! I was once at La Isla Mujeres years ago. We snorkeled but we didn't see any whale sharks. We did get to pet some pretty big nurse sharks and sea turtles though.
You wear that mermaid tail well. Upvoting and following.

Awww thanks. Isn't it so beautiful there? The water is like turquoise candy. The whale sharks are about an hour into the ocean but snorkeling is amazing there too.

Congratulations @corinnaherden! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

@corinnaherden Thanks for your work sir.... Love it.

@corinnaherden Thank you for the function, I invite you to evaluate my function..

Hi. Thanks but can you please tell me what a function is? I'm new and don't understand.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57971.70
ETH 2448.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34