The quickening...a time lapse journey...quicker than you thinksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

After a period not respecting myself I went thru the experience of making my body a theme park for all sorts of altered states, opening the doors of perception in the church of perpetual astonishment.

IMG_4247.jpg

Along the journey I learned that my body really is my temple. And I began to care for it and treat it with respect. I began eating a balanced diet, drinking more water and taking more time to exercise.

I came to appreciate that fatigue, restlessness and worry diminishes the spirit and can create doubt and fear as they have a tendency to manifest the longer I focus on them.

So I take more time to rest, to question un-resourceful thoughts and to be vigilant what I allow myself to listen to, to see or read. And, just as food fuels the body, laughter fuels my soul. Hence I take more time to laugh and to play and allow my willingness to be perpetually astonished serve as my guide.

Looking in the mirror, coming to terms with the fact that I will never be a size 8 or a perfect 10 I stopped trying to compete with the image inside my head and agonizing over how I "stack up” or that I may have to impress anyone.

DSCN8512.jpg

To play a better game in life I keep on learning, that for the most part, in life I get what I believe I deserve . . . and that much of life truly is a self-fulfilling prophecy and a story that I create…. and not getting what I want can be a true blessing.

I wonder how many times you may have discovered that yourself.

A true blessing

A true blessing has been the first hand experiences that the only thing I must truly fear is the great robber baron of all time. FEAR itself. I learned to step right into and through my fears by questioning my un-investigated thinking. "Is it really true?" Once I go thru the work (thanks Byron Katie ) I know that whatever happens I can handle it and to give in to fear is to give away the right to live life on my terms. You might notice the sensations in your heart while you are reading this and know what you can change.

Like in marshal arts I learned to fight for my life and not to squander it living under a cloud of impending doom…instead I remember to be quiet and receptive to see what the universe has got in mind and let things unfold at their own time…I become a witness to my life and appreciate a growing sense of astonishment how things work or not…and let life take me where I need to go.

Letting go and let the river guide me requires trust. I came to understand that there is no trust without risk and dealing with sorrow I learned that life isn't always fair. I don't always get what I think I deserve and that sometimes-bad things happen to unsuspecting, good people. On these and other occasions I learned not to personalize things.

Guess you have discovered that many times yourself and know when you are ready for a change... or two.

DSCN8508.jpg

At times I was reminded that anything worth achieving is worth working for and that having clear intentions is important…and to accept and surrender when the universe and the gods have other plans.

Having plans and wishing for something to happen is different from working toward making it happen. More importantly, I learned that in order to achieve success I need to focus on my true intention, direction, discipline , presence and perseverance.

I also learn that no one can do it all alone and that it's OK to risk asking for help. The key is learning how to ask.

How would it feel if you had already the help you know you need ... for a change?

To be continued...!

Sort:  

interesting all the things ,you shared there and your photography is outstanding. i think, you have a good talent of photography..keep it up,GOOD POST.

Thank you. Interestingly enough ...all photos were taken with an I phone 3G ...some time ago...at the art fair in Cologne. I thought the pics would come handy sometime...Yep, I never cease to be astonished. Have a great weekend

Nice ideas and interesting pictures, followed. Thanks,

Thank you kindly

Keep at it badboy 😉. Upped & resteemed!

Thanks ..will do my best....like u2

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61533.72
ETH 3447.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51