A BREATH OF FRESH AIR

in #life7 years ago (edited)

It feels like a new dawn for me.
I can literally feel the breath of fresh air. And no, it’s not because it’s a new month.
That’s purely coincidental.
I’m gradually unclogging my space.
Narrowing down to specifics.
The more i cut down on stuff, the lighter i become.
You know the feeling that comes from taking out unwanted clothes and other unnecessary things, creating more space for your feet and allowing ventilation?
That’s how i feel at the moment.
One of the ways i did (and still do) this is intentionally censoring the books i read.
I have 24 hours like everyone else. Before now, i’d struggle to share that time between everything and everyone, thinking that 'busy-ness’ equals productivity.
Well, sometimes it doesn’t.
I no longer read for reading purposes.
There are so many books to read that even if i wanted to read them all ,one lifetime is not enough to cover half of them. Did i say half?Let’s make that a quarter.
So…
I came to terms with the fact that i’d miss out on the knowledge in many books because of my inability to read them all.
I don’t like feeling like i’m missing out.
But i can’t help it.
There’s just me and the path ahead of me.
All i can do is read books in line with where i’m at and where i’m going.
Reading books that really matter TO ME.
I don’t have time to spare.
So when i see a book on ‘Seduction,Flirtation:The History and Art’ and another titled ‘ How to be the Total Package of Awesomeness’ , you already know the one i’m buying.
The latter.
And that’s not because there isn’t something to learn from the former.
There could be but at this point in my life i only have the time and resources for what i actually need.
The same goes for meetings, seminars, Facebook groups, online courses and even Whatsapp groups.
You just can’t be everywhere now. Can you?
It’s beautiful to have focus.
And it’s wonderful to be here – where you don’t have misgivings about what should occupy your mind and time.
This place where you are certain of what you should be involved with and what should consume your time.
There’s only so much you can really multi-task.
There’s only so much you can be.
You want to look back over your life years from now with no regrets.
I sure know i want to, on my dying bed, smile and know that i gave it my all.
The only way to proudly wear such smile is to start now.
Get down to the brass tacks with a laser –focus and enjoy the sanity and fresh air that comes with it.
20171115_confidnce427747bb_7.jpg

Sort:  

Really nice post. look forward to seeing you future thoughts

Thank you,sir.

You are write "right" ma'am!

Thing is, it's not possible to be everywhere at the same time. Neither is it easy to read 2 books at a time. Also, it's true what you said that busyness does not equal productivity.

You know for many years i used to think I am the most productive in the block because I was the most busy of my friends. Well, i was wrong. In fact, based on results, they were more productive than me, because their account balance speak volume of TRUE productivity. You sabi the level na?

So who dey fool who? Haha!

i love you more for this reminder, @confy-edolor!

Sam

Love ya too,Sam.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60754.57
ETH 2658.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51