8 Months Later and I Am Still Alive

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Photo on 14-02-2018 at 21.11 #4.jpg
Hello, I am from Iceland.
Shortly after my last post on Steemit which was 8 months ago, I lost my apartment. For the first time in my life, I stood out on the street with a travel bag suitcase and nowhere to go. I was Homeless. For some reason, my phone stopped working two weeks before I had to move out I almost lost all of my things because I could not find any storage. Thankfully I manage to save my computer by taking it to the Apple agency.
So the whole time I was without a phone also.
Being homeless in Iceland is no joke. Homeless people in Iceland are some of the toughest people I know. This has been one of the craziest, hardest and somehow the most valuable times in my life.
Do not forget that some of the men died and many are still homeless.
I got to know many refugees, lots of good people out there. I also had to play a major role in an operation where we took over two buildings for a couple of months. It was done peacefully so we had to cooperate with the police in a way because of the situation. I established the basement as a storage room for furniture and started to build up new properties. Even one of the newspaper came to write an article about the situation. At one point I had to use violence because of a war situation that was ongoing for some time. All because of one phone.
Many got hurt but thankfully that situation has stopped.
Although some are probably still bitter after all those events.
I, on the other hand, am glad that I got to shake hands with one of the men that I kicked.
The biggest fight, however, was to get an apartment. Apartments In Iceland can be expansive and especially since Iceland became a hot spot for tourism. Finding a place can be difficult if you are from Iceland.
Actually, there is a difficult housing problem in Iceland especially for young people who are starting out and also for poor people.
Luckily a have a good lawyer and a good track record. Still, I had to really push on email after email, meeting after meeting and finally after months of fighting I got an apartment downtown in Reykjavik City.
So if you happen to be a Scientist or a beautiful Girl Traveling in Iceland you can leave a comment in the comment section below and I will try to meet you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60860.94
ETH 2672.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62