Judging From Afar, Contributed by @Olawalium

in #life6 years ago

businessman-corporate-elegant-652355.jpg


We are all guilty of judging things from the surface. We see something and we just conclude that is how it is. While growing up, there was this song I learned of a movie, and it was in my local language. I hope I would be able to do justice to it by translating it as I am about to do, right now.

“I saw a luxurious car, with a rich man driving in it. I stood there and I pray to be as rich as him, and I spoke to my destiny, hoping to be exactly like that rich man, little did I know that some riches have trouble. I said my destiny should make me rich, so I can be like ‘so and so’, without knowing the troubles the person is passing through or has passed through. Riches sometimes come with doing the odds for some. See a house filled with riches, but then pain dwells. See a rich man’s house, filled with troubles.”

We often judge from the surface. We see someone driving a luxury car and we feel they are lucky. No, they are not. You have no idea how they suffered before they attained that height. You have no idea the sleepless nights they have had. You have no idea the hunger they suffered while growing up. Some of them didn’t have it easy, they walked and worked up to that height we so much desire right now.


contemporary-gradient-handrails-434645.jpg


We mostly judge everything from the surface. That’s just us sometimes. We see a man smiling, we assume he has everything going fine with him. We don’t have an idea all the things he has to put up with and the pain he is dealing with, buried deep down. We see couples going out, smiling. We generally assume they have a perfect marriage. We have no idea what goes on inside their closet. We see someone jumping up and down, we tend to assume he has that strength because he has eaten, which doesn’t necessarily mean that's so. He might not have tasted anything that day. He just chose to encourage himself and put up a bold front, because he doesn’t want a pity party, and because he has a better mindset. We usually don’t see the efforts they put in before they get to that point, all we see are the results, and that is all we use to judge the present.

It’s okay to be human, it’s even more okay to have our own opinion, but whatever it is that we desire, we should work towards it, rather than think others have it all together too. For you to know they don’t have it all together, ask them and they will tell you their stories.

We all have dreams, the problem is selling it. We all have stories, the problem is telling it.

As for them how they attained that height, then you would understand how many hurdles they crossed before getting there.


athlete-female-hurdles-159745.jpg


Even here on Steemit, I see people with higher reputation and I wonder when I would ever get to that point. I see people upvote others and I see the weight of it and I chuckle at me with shaking of the head in disbelief, asking when I will ever get there. What we need to know is that the journey of a thousand miles starts with a single step. Don’t worry, you will get there.


white-number-57-on-gold-260nw-1047110698.jpg
Source


My friend, Jordan reminded me this morning that I now have a 57 reputation. I smiled and had that feeling of excitement inside me. If you asked me my story, I surely have a lot to share.

Instead of thinking others have it easy, know that they don’t. If you are still in doubt, ask them about their story and use it as a springboard to forge ahead. No one said it would be easy, but with dedication and persistence, it would totally worth it.

Thank you for your time.


My pen doesn’t bleed, it speaks, with speed and ease.

Still me,

Olawalium; (Love’s chemical content, in human form). Take a dose today: doctor’s order.


If you enjoyed this post, follow @Olawalium

Sort:  

This is so true @communitycoin!
Take for instance the circus clown who entertains and makes his audience laugh, but often sneaks back to his caravan to drown his unresolved pain.
The late and great Robin Williams was an example of this.
Who would have thought or suspected his mask of humour, was hiding deep sorrow and pain?
Only those close to him.

I love these examples. Yes, there are so many things buried in the inside which the face value won't do justice to, all the time.
Really appreciate your comment. I like it.

And I really appreciate your contribution!
Posting on relationships now, if you would care to see my blog?

Would try and check it out. Thanks again.

Nothing like overnight success, until man accept this fact, he will never stop worrying about things and himself.
We all want it cheap, the truth is that we don't take time to value cheap things
If we learn to be in possession of right mindset, then we will know that the little difference between here and there is T with some wise people regards to as time.
Do what you ought to do per time, and success would come to your as cheap as you ever desired, failure to walk with time is failure to become one's dream.
I do hope I become a whale, but I don't have to be worried about it, it has to be gradual
Thanks for the inspiration @olawalium.

That's really nice. I am glad you enjoyed this. Makes me happy. With time, efforts and consistency, we will get there. Thanks brother.

I love the message and how Olawalium put these thoughts together - the message rings true.

None of us knows exactly what someone else has gone through or all of the circumstances, so it's best to take an honest look at ourselves, and be grateful for opportunities and blessings that we have (without comparing to others).

Thanks for sharing this - upvoted and now am following you. Looking forward to seeing more of these posts. Cheers!

Thank you so much for this. It warns my heart to hear all these and I really appreciate you. See you around then. :)

Thanks for this, i have always been an advovate of not comparing self as it tends to shoot you off the right path. Everyone has different roles and paths and ofcourse their troubles, it what makes them unique, but when i pass through someone else path because they seem to look good to me, then im doing myself more harm than good. Thanks for sharing this one

You absolutely nailed it. Definitely, we should tend our field and water it, we all have our stories and that is what make us unique. Really appreciate your comment. Duly appreciated.

Youre welcome, thanks for sharing such intuitive post

I am really grateful.

Definitely we all have problems we are facing, and through my experience, the more rich you are is the more your problems increase. Maybe that's how God plan it.

I don't blame the rich ones that don't help cos I don't know what they battle with inside them and I don't know how much they suffered before they get to the top they were right now

This is great. I appreciate this kind of content. It is real and raw and along the lines of what I try to share too. Thanks for being here and being human!

I am really delighted you can relate with this and more so, that you like it. Thank you very much. Much appreciated.

We're certainly all guilty of this. However, I try to remind myself as you put it - to focus on my own life and try to get the full story in every situation

Yes, we are all guilty of it. The human side kicks in and quickly nudging our self back to reality would make us focus on our journey. Thanks a lot.

Persistence is what makes the impossible possible, the possible likely and the likely definite.

That's mouthful and detailed. Thanks cutie

This is something we all have to constantly keep reminding ourselves. Very beautifully spoken. Thank you.

I am glad you enjoyed it. Thank you.

The fact is, there is time for everything in life, even when God want to create the world, He created it one after another with time. So contribution is, everyone has is own time to become whatever we want to become in life. And it's gradual processing. When our time comes people will see that.

Yes, with time, efforts and consistency, everything falls into place. Thanks a lot bro.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57956.22
ETH 3126.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45