My First Real Job Was At A Book Shop......DISASTER!!

in #life8 years ago

Growing up, I did all the usual things to earn money. Lemonade stands, pet sitting, watching neighbor's houses during their vacations, baby sitting, tending gardens and the list continued. Everything went fairly well for the most part, just a few mishaps here and there.
I was pet sitting a huge Lab who always acted like he never got any food(he did-he was VERY overweight) and tending a garden the same week. I thought it would be reasonable to do "double duty" and walk Linus and check on the garden. Linus rested at the front of the garden while I weeded-or so I thought. I finished and called for Linus. He had his head toward the fence and would not look at me, so I walked over and he took off-when I caught up with him, he looked like a chipmunk with stuffed cheeks, plants, vines and roots trailing from his mouth... What dog eats vegetables?? Linus, that's who. The front of the garden was destroyed and Linus had to make a trip to the ER vet for extreme stomach pain. I was still allowed to watch Linus and tend the garden, so no major repercussions.
I was asked to care for ants in one of those Uncle Milton's ant farms one summer. This is going to be really easy-nothing to ant-watching! I had observed the ants and they just didn't seem to have much of a life. I decided to put them on the window sill. With an interesting view of the huge, outside world, I felt they would be happier, more satisfied. Well, to make a long story short, at that time in my life I didn't know about greenhouse effects, condensation, etc. The ants, unfortunately, got a tad overheated and died. I wasn't sure what to do, but I buried all the ants in the backyard and said a short prayer for them. I sat down on the back steps with the empty ant farm and thought. Wild ants! That's it! I could certainly catch some wild ants for the farm! With vigor, I scoured the yard. Pretty soon, being satisfied with the number of new ants, I took them inside. Watching them, I was amazed at how fast they were becoming friends and some even hugging! Actually, they were a mixture of red, black and who-knows-what ants killing each other....I had to call Uncle Milton and order replacement ants. I was still allowed to watch the ants over Christmas. So, again, no major problems.
These "jobs" were fine, but then I turned 16. It was time to go to the mall and get a real job. And, hopefully, get rich in the process. All the money I had earned up to this point, I spent on books. I had the largest personal library of any kid I knew-although, no other kids were very impressed. I headed to the mall and, once inside, my feet automatically headed to the book shop. I was looking around and waved to the manager. He was stocking and asked what I was up too-I said "I just turned 16, so now I'm looking for a real job". He said "Happy Birthday! why don't you work here? " Me? Here? Working at the book shop? WOW! I accepted on the spot! It went fine at first and I loved it-being the first to see the new books arrive? It does NOT get any better! Although, again, most kids were not very impressed. The trouble started when I asked my Dad for some movie money. He was irritated , I worked six days a week at that book place and never had any money! My first paycheck had gone towards new books. My second paycheck had gone towards new books. Paychecks 3 & 4 covered part of my book addiction, however, not all. Paycheck 5 saw me getting into debt with the place where I was supposed to be "earning" money. Paycheck 6 & 7 only saw the situation get worse. Paycheck 8 was when my Dad intervened. I had spent ALL the money I had earned and was now in debt to my employers. My Dad ranted and raved at the manager-he could not, for the life of him, see how they could let this happen, get so far out of hand! Is all the manager could do was shrug and comment, "well, you know how she like books...." I started the next week in the sheets/towels/linens section of the department store. Yeah, I made money.
Moral of the story-Don't get a job in a book shop if you LOVE books. I mean, you're supposed to do what you love, but I guess not in all cases.....
This is my first submission of a story-so let me know how you liked it and if I'm doing this right! Thanks in advance! If you want to know if a book is a good read, just ask!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41