You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Are Men Good For?

in #life7 years ago

WOW.

This needed to be said.

Unfortunately, I doubt many have the ears to hear.

I think the lack of a fatherhood figure completely demolishes a boys self esteem and prevents him from becoming a man.

Boys seem to be taught by their mothers to obey society and not to stand up for what is right, but to cower in compliance.

I grew up without a father figure and it devastated my self esteem.

I think boys need to become men at a certain age, but they are not.

We no longer have ceremonies of initiation to represent the becoming of manhood, and I think the world needs strong, resilient, courageous men just as much as it needs strong, resilient, and confident women.

Sort:  

Spot on, especially what you've said about the absence of 'ceremonies of initiation', which is perhaps the most pertinent ritual necessary to transform boys into men. What we have now is a generation of boys still connected via a psychic umbilical cord to their mothers.

Thank you for your feedback :)

Lol.
No problem.
I look forward to reading more of your content.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57102.05
ETH 2348.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33