I woke up thinking I was going to die!

in #life6 years ago

IMG_20180131_192153_318.jpg

Hi guys, hope your day is going well cause mine isn't,here's what happened.

I got back from work really early today, I was feeling great and nothing was troubling me at all. I bought a bottle of coke on my way home from work, it wasn't really cold but I didn't cause the air was kinda dry. Got to my place, it was cool and quiet. "perfect" was the word that came to my mind. I took off my clothes very slowly (I had time on my hands, no need to rush), went to the kitchen and looked into the fridge and the infamous Nigerian jollof rice was sitting there. At this point, I thought to myself that nothing could go wrong.
My fellow Nigerians would know how well jollof goes with cook.
Fast forward to my room, I had finished eating at this time and decided to take a nap. That was around 3pm Nigerian time.
Fast forward to 4pm. I started to hear my name lightly in my dream, and it got louder and louder until I woke up. You guessed right, I still heard someone scream my name in after waking up. It was a female voice I recognized it so I responded, and the next word she said was fire.

I mentioned that the air was dry earlier right? It was harmattan, and with this weather things catch fire easily. This knowledge hit a kinda reflex I had never seen before in me, I jumped off the bed to the ground and ran outside without even seeing the fire that she spoke of. I thought I was going to die when lock of my door started to act up, it was fine earlier in the day but its like it heard the warning and the little man works inside the lock ran away before me. I panicked and tears came down my eyes.
The door finally opened and I ran to the woman and guess what? The fire not even on our street.
It was on the next street but it was from a fuel station so the fire was large enough that you could see it from 6 blocks away. At this point, I felt like punching her in the face and ask her what she called me for but ran inside, changed her clothes pick up her child and ran away from the house and the entire street. Her actions made me understand the reason she called me. She did not want to run without waking me up so I could run away with her. It was a good act but she got me scared unnecessarily.

If you're wondering, I didn't run. I went to check out the fire. I'll tell you about that tomorrow.

How did your day go?

#coloredstories
#Repost

Sort:  

I will wait till tomorrow to get the full gist.

My day? I was about blogging about how my day is going when I was captured by your post title. So you can look out for my post in a bit.

Thanks for sharing this post.

Congratulations @coloredgirl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58296.60
ETH 3064.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26