A meaningful task - postcrossing

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I believed that most of you here rarely send real mail to other.
Since the advanced technology is growing rapidly, people will just talk to other by using instant messaging instead of sending real mail.

But for me, I like to receive real mail! Therefore, postcrossing is a great opportunity for me to send real mail and receive real mail from other.

Let me first introduce what is Postcrossing. It is a "project" with the goal that allows anyone to send and receive postcards from all over the world! The idea is simple, for each postcard you send, you will receive one back from a random postcrosser from somewhere in the world.

Receiving postcards from different places in the world, many of which you probably have never heard of, can turn your mailbox into a box of SURPRISES!

Does it sound amazing?
Definitely yes for me!!!

Then let me talk about how does it work like.

You can just request to send a postcard and the system will give you an address. Pick a postcard with friendly message on it along with its postcard ID and send to postcard out !
When the postcard arrives, its recipient will register it using its postcard ID. This step will make you eligible to receive a postcard from another member on the web.
Then you can just receive a postcard form others! And what you have to do is just follow the steps to register it.

After talking about the background and how does it work like, I would like to share my own experience.

I have joined this in a month ago, and I have sent seven postcards out already. Two of them were successfully sent to the member in Germany and China respectively. The reminding is still traveling.

I will write some message about my own place or something special in my daily life to the recipient. For the postcard, I chose the card with the view of Hong Kong, or the card that I loved some much. Because I want the recipient to know how great Hong Kong is, or share my interest with the recipient.

Postcrossing is really a meaningful task for me. When I was informed that my postcard was successfully sent to the recipient, I will be very excited. I'm sure you will have the same feeling as I do.

After my sharing, I hope more people will engage in it.
If you got any question about postcrossing or if you want to know more about it, feel free to ask me.
If you enjoy my writing, please upvote me. I need your support in order to write more.
Welcome to resteem my sharing to let more people know postcrossing.

Happy steamit and happy Postcrossing!

Ps. This is the first time that I wrote such a long sharing, so sorry for any grammatical error or spelling mistake.

Declaration: some introduction about postcrossing is from https://www.postcrossing.com/

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit, i am from Hong Kong too, i have just followed and upvoted your post!! Lets help the Hong Kong steemit community growth together! Your post actually reminded me of the time when mailing was the normal way of communixating and email was new, we were so excited about getting an email. But nowadays life changes, emails get so common and spam emails everywhere, and getting a real post mail suddenly became an excitment for us now. Time does change how we felt about certain things and scarcity is what make things precious. Steem on!!

Thanks ! Let's contribute for the HK steemit community
That's really a great time when sending or receiving mail for other. That's why I want to share this to other.

welcome to steemit! it is a good idea to write a self-introduction as your beginning ;)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by colinct from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67333.38
ETH 3247.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65