5 Ways Being a Minnow is like Being Magikarp (7 Days on Steemit Lookback)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I joined Steemit a week ago and continue to be blown away by the potential of the platform and everyday I'm absorbing and learning new info about how things work. I'm also making great friends along the way that is a treasure in itself!

Magikarp on the Scene


magikarp.jpg(source)

1) Starting Out is Daunting

Steemit does have what can feel like a steep learning curve. You can read all the guides and watch all the youtube videos but it can feel overwhelming. You're just a minnowkarp in a sea of what looks like whales all around. Each post is just a small splash, but a splash none the less. Each post possibly getting a new viewer, a new chance to make a connection.

2) Splashing On

Like Magikarp you have to keep splashing, keep posting, keep engaging, and keep at it. It's too easy to get disillusioned in todays fast pace, gotta have it now consumer mentality. Everything takes time.

3) Giving Up Too Soon

Just like in Pokemon some people give up too quickly, like with Magikarp. In the series a trainer James gets one and gives up on him in just one day. We mustn't be like James!

4) Hidden Potential

Just like Magikarp your posting here has a hidden potential, one that is waiting for you to be unlocked if you stay the course and put in the work. You know the potential is there because you can see the success of others. People are settling down to just running their social media on Steemit, people wouldn't do this if Steemit didn't offer them extreme potential in the ability to reach people, connect, and be rewarded for them time and energy spent.

5) Evolving

Eventually you evolve. Your posts get better, you meet more people, you hit new goals, and you evolve into a beautiful Gyarados or at the very least a little wiser of a Magikarp!


gyrados.jpg
(source)

7 Days on Steemit & Introduction!

I survived 7 Days on Steemit!

I came in wide-eyed bushy tailed and made my first post, got some people interested in what I was working on which was awesome! Small splash but its great to talk to people about my projects.

I kept posting and was surprised to see one post actually reach 45 people! I even have 45 followers! 45 must be my lucky number.

Coming from the perspective of someone who has used every social network out there for what feels like a decade, I can honestly say Steemit in one week has been more rewarding than any other. I know its a big statement to make with only a week of experience but the potential is all there. Steemit is a killer app and I look forward to being able to participate!

I've also been raving to my friends about it and a few of them have even joined.

I am self employed and work on web projects for a living. I'm developing a marketplace to buy and sell products with Steem in my free time. I also spend a lot of my free time on odd hobbys like sweeping (winning sweepstakes), scouring the internet for deals, and hanging out on forums. So if you follow, you can expect that kind of content. :)

As always, thanks for reading! Steem on!

Sort:  

Cool idea for a post because who doesn't like pokemon?

I know I certainly do!!

Great article, Sorry, to ruin your lucky 45, but I am going to follow.

Ha, its all good, maybe 45 wasn't my lucky number! Thank you whatsup!

It's amazing how this analogy works just so well.

Welcome to Steem @coinsen I have sent you a tip

I got it! Thank you! ^_^

As magikarp has got his own game, there are big bunch of different things built just to help minnows too.

Minnow Jump the game. Woo!

Congrats on your success thus far! I've just recently hit my 7 day mark, and I completely agree, we're need to play the longterm game here! Glad to have you here :)

This was a very good post!

I'm curious on your progress, so I'll be following you.

You might enjoy this:

https://steemit.com/pokemon/@fremecraiche/nostalgic-beauty-1-childhood-emerges

Great metaphor. Minnowkarp 😂😂😂😂🔥
Keep at it.

Thanks, I'll keep at it! Thanks for stopping by :)

Great comparison my pokeminnow. Followed!

I always like the pokemon reference and hope you use hm strength to move forward. Great Post and have a nice day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59292.67
ETH 2590.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47