Why I Gardening on my patio

in #life6 years ago

Why I garden an my patio in containers.

Yes, I garden in containers on my patio. I also get put down for it by my friends. These same friends buy organic fruits and vegetables in the grocery stores. I keep being told it is a waste of my time doing it.

One thing I feel it is relaxing to do my container gardening. I also know it is really is being grown organic. We all know fresh is best and you can't get any fresher than growing it your self. I like knowing how things are grown and I admit I can't grow everything. Face it a 8ft x 12ft patio is not that large of space.

26170726_1637983809615767_1102797186185585615_o.jpg

So far I have started Amish Deer Tongue lettuce,Parrish lettuce,green tomatoes,Pashion Fruit,Yellow Kiwi,Golden Zucchini squash,Rubine Brussells sprouts,Stripy Red Tomatoes,Chinese Red noodle Beans,Cherokee Tan Pumpkins and Chestnut Chocolate Tomatoes.

I have even had people it was gross to eat the vegetables I grow. This comment really got to me because this person buys organic food at the grocery store.

I like to eat what I grow, and I like cooking from scratch. I like to provide what I can for my family.

coffeetime.gifThank to @marxrab for the gif

Sort:  

Those are not friends who say stuff like that.
Instead of running down the initiative of doing it on your own and having a end product of real food you know from start to finish they are trying to stifle your joy and accomplishments...

Wow, I find that belief so weird...happy to buy organic food from the store, but look down on growing it yourself?! That's the BEST food you can get in my opinion.

Great to hear you're continuing on and growing on your patio whatever they say! Perhaps you'll manage to change their minds one day and they'll see just what a great thing you're doing.

Are you eating them as micro greens? I've been researching best way to grow micro green as well as sprouts. I think it is wonderful that you grow your greens!

No, I don't do micro greens but I have been doing some research on them. And think it would be something I might be tring but want to do more research on them first. I love growing what I can.

I love that you have a patio garden. Maybe it's the Florida culture? I've never heard of people thinking home grown veggies was gross but I live in a rural area. I say ignore the haters and do what makes you happy. I love hearing about your garden updates.

Thanks

That is the way to go self sufficient in food that we could grow. There has been tax reform here in our country. Income taxes will go down but prices would go up. This is one way of lowering the expenses and you are also sure your food is good for you ,organic and safe.

This is good.. my friend @coffeetime . Planting our own vegetables makes it even more delicious.

Yes @yagoub home grown is best in taste.

Sounds to me like you need some new friends. People who would criticize you for growing food on your patio ... or even tell you it was "gross" don't sound like the kind of people I'd want bothering me with their opinions. Would they say the same things if you were growing flowers, or doing needlepoint, or working jigsaw puzzles. Gardening on your patio is a hobby -- one that provides a practical payoff. Anyone who has a problem with that can just go ... whistle. (Cleaned that one up quite a bit.)

Get some new friends.

The-STEEM-Engine

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05