That One Time I Saved a Kitten Out of a Storm Drain in Back in '06

in #life7 years ago

I have been backing up my Myspace blog here on steemit for the last few days. We have now arrived to the section where I attempt to save a kitten out of a storm drain. True story, even made the local news. Enjoy!

Of course my ideologies have changed in the last 10 years so I cannot be held fully liable for the ramblings of my twenty something year old self.

“I will always be the echo back to the cries for help, even if none can be brought” Mr. Deeds 9/27/2006 [Myspace Blog Backup]

Please repost to respect a cat we will never know

I will always be the echo back to the cries for help, even if none can be brought
Mr. Deeds 9/27/06

TRUE STORY

I was leaving a friends house Heather(she will confirm) at around 4am. I pull up to the light next to her house on my way home and hear a faint meow. I almost instinctively new the cat got curious and found himself lost in a drain Sympathizing with this creature being of like mind. I realized I might find myself in a similar situation and would require aid from another.

I did what was right but not drastic, Dialed 411, the almost emergency number. I explain the situation to the operator. Having not been properly trained to deal with this type of situation, the man re-routes me to animal control, which is closed.

I then dialed 911, when all hope is lost and you need help fast I explain the situation to the operator and a patrol car is sent.

Enter stage left; The Patsy

This guy was holding down Maryville taking the 4am cat in drain calls. "Second one this week" As he chuckled, "Too bad these drain covers are 500pnds, we could save a life". He then tries to convince me, that the cat had left. My rebuttal became that it had gotten especially cold that evening, and wondering around in a pitch black drain all night would be quit tiring, if not life threatening. As he nodded to agree, the poor cat chimed once again. I made sure to look him in the eye when he replied "I will make a note to get someone out here in the mourning". I feel that I could have stayed there all night and echoed back those faint meows, and look crazy to passers by. Limited are the capabilities of the wonderful Maryville PD to levitate a storm drain to save a cats life. To bad the tool needed was asleep and part of a good union. So I mourn, for a cat we will never know, or a kitten inside all of us that calls for help. My only regret was my verbal assurance everything would be fine. If that cat could understand me, pissed off he would be, as the last breaths are taken. Wondering why a stranger would guarantee hope if there was none. I make a promise, never to forget or forgive, reasons that created that situation. I will do my best to prepare for a similar situation in any form, if one ever arises again.

I will always be the echo back to the cries for help, even if none can be brought
Mr. Deeds 9/27/06

Where Does the Drain Go?

----------END TRANSMISSION---------

SteemVerify

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 02. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.99 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 02 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61585.79
ETH 3005.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68