GET REAL, It's Time for the Percolator!

in #life8 years ago

Anyone in their thirties that spent enough time in a club as a teenager remembers "the percolator" by Green Velvet. Got to see it performed live last night at GET REAL in Detroit!

The electronic dance music scene is alive and well in Detroit as you can see below.

The venue was in the basement of a Masonic Temple which added to the cool factor. Acoustics in the room were also amazing a lot better than I would expect from a basement.

Had a great time and it is a fun community, similar to the one here on steemit!

Made a little video with some footage from my phone, enjoy!

Thanks for reading, make sure to comment your favorite memory of listening to the percolator!

SteemVerify

Sort:  

Oh my; yes that is a classic, it's repetitive but such a fun song. Gotta love the D town dance scene. Glad to see it is alive and well I dropped out of it in the early 2003ish.

I understand dropping out, I refer to it as "once you get the message, hang up the phone". It is a great venue for anyone with social anxiety issues, people from all walks of life.

That's one of the great memories I have of Detroit's dance scene is the diversity. Even going somewhere like City Club which was mostly a gothic club would draw business men in suits and ties. Any rave I went too was a good mix of all walks of life. Just goes to show how music can bring people together.

Green Velvet is a legend! I really enjoy his deeper tracks.

From a technical standpoint the best DJ I have had the opportunity to see perform.

This is pretty cool! Didn't realize Detroit had much left going on

It was fun, the economy might not be the best but they still throw some good shows.

Detroit is great for these type of events

I spent many dayz raving back in the 90's. :) Thanks for the memories.

You are very welcome. It was fun to take pictures and make the post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60596.21
ETH 2611.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64