Why I like to talk to people

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Picture Credits: Unsplash

Ever since I can remember I have been called an extrovert. And ever since I learnt to speak I have loved talking to people. When I was in school not one day went by when I didn’t tell my mom what happened in school that day. In college, I always assumed the position of narrator in our group conversations; often boring my friends with anecdotes and often listening to them tell stories of their own.


Ever since I remember I have loved talking to people. And I think I finally know why. Is it because I am an extrovert? Yes, of course! But that is just one of the reasons. 


A lot of people do not realize this but a face to face conversation or talking in general is personal. When you talk to someone you open yourself up to other person/people irrespective of what the talk is about and what the nature of the talk is. It is, to some extent, making yourself vulnerable to the listener; letting pieces of your personality escape through the words you speak. Talking is the best way to bring down the walls a lot of us walk around with most of the times. Talking lets you communicate your thoughts, opinions, emotions, insecurities and much more. Talking is the first step to making a bond with someone. Talking is personal.


When I say I like to talk to people it also means that I like to listen to people. And believe me that is where the magic really resides. One of the most innate human desires, if a u ask me is, being heard. A good conversationalist is a good listener. Listening to someone requires patience, ability to understand things from a different perspective, flexibility and openness. And unsurprisingly, the same qualities are required to be a good speaker.


So why do I like to talk to people? Because talking, for me, is one of the purest forms of communication. There is no backspace in talking, no emojis to mask your inner emotions and no filters to euphemise or exaggerate your feelings. Talking lets you connect, gives you a glimpse into personalities, opens you to various lines of thoughts and a multitude of perspectives… It soothes me, intrigues me, surprises me, excites me but talking never bores me. And one thing that can bring about so many emotions is worth loving.

Sort:  

Hello @ coderg. I don't think extroversion and introversion are personality traits but behaviors molded by specific circumstances and experiences in one's lifetime.
I take myself as an example:
As a toddler: hyperactive and very talkative
As a kid/early teens: very introverted, quiet, absent-minded, living in my dream world, barely any friends
Late teens/early twenties: extroverted, friendly, bubbly, the popular girl in groups of friends, never alone
Currently (late twenties): somewhere in the middle. I crave communication but it has to be meaningful or else I get bored and I'd rather be alone.

Hi @elemenya
Thank you for your comment
In my article I haven't tried to comment on introversion or extroversion or the correlation of either with anyone's basic cravings or instincts
I have tried to highlight why I crave talking to someone and why talking in general can be a healthy thing for the people involved
I do agree to your point that one's traits are impacted by circumstances. I talked about the fact that you can take a glimpse into someon's personality but I didn't say one has to form judgements about the same. As long as no judgements are formed no strong reaction would come on any change of the other person's personality

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61038.67
ETH 2626.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62