I was able to reach my dreams but did not realize its price!!

in #life7 years ago

As a child growing up, I had the idea that men who wear fancy coats and ties are cool. The idea that these garments represent knowledge, power and prestige. I hastily jump into conclusion that men who wear coat and tie are LAWYERS.

That was the birth of my lifelong pursuit of that goal. A goal that someday I will be wearing the same coat and tie that these men are wearing. That someday, I will become a symbol of prestige, of knowledge. That someday, I will become a LAWYER.

suits_harvey_specter_rachel_zane_donna_paulsen_mike_ross_louis_litt_jessica_pearson_harold_jakowski_95866_3840x2400.jpg
The SYMBOL I dreamt of wearing

Fast forward to where I am now, oh! don't get me wrong, I did reach that goal, I did get to have the chance to wear that fancy suit and tie (though the weather here in my Country makes it damn uncomfy lol ). Anyway, it was indeed like the seniors have told me, the feeling will overwhelm you and the prestige will follow you everywhere.

HTTPS9tZWRpYS50ZW5vci5jby9pbWFnZXMvYjUyNDJmYTZkM2E5NmFmZjA1MmRmNTdkYjRhYzU2ODMvcmF3.gif

But there was one thing that they forgot to tell me, the price that I have to pay for all of it. My job is to uphold the rule of law, as I am considered an officer of the Court, but people DO NOT see it that way.

They see me as a defender of people who were stupid enough to transgress and break the rules established in order to have a civilized society. I am often confronted with a question "Why do you defend such person?" Even if I spend all day trying to explain to them my duty and my oath, they would still end up questioning your principles. This is the STIGMA that lawyers carry on their shoulders.

Paris_Tuileries_Garden_Facepalm_statue.jpg
When you already explained something to someone but that someone still end up with the same argument

Well, this is the price you pay for it. The constant barrage of questions that targets your dignity and principles. Some people will never understand the predicament you're into every time you handle a certain case. They will always see as the PERSON WHO DEFENDS CRIMINALS.

They will never understand that the words DUE PROCESS .

Goddess-Lady-Justice-Statue.jpg

JUSTICE should be meted out objectively, without fear or favour, regardless of identity, money, power, or weakness.

Sort:  

Congratulations @coco13! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58539.27
ETH 2627.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40