Big Brother is Watching

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I try to be a private person, careful what I share. In this I think I am successful. Until........

I just received my monthly Big Brother report, a.k.a. Google monthly review.

Because I have a smart phone which is cluttered with google apps I don't have to 'check in' anywhere. This monthly report tells me all the cities I have visited just this month. It lists places I visited and has determined where I will be going on any given day based on this. The report even tells me how much time I have spent in a vehicle during the month.

I look at my phone and it tells me I usually do grocery shopping on a particular day and automatically give me a traffic report to the location without asking.

I love being able to use the map feature to help me find a location, but when I look at this report detailing my life I feel my life is an open book and it concerns me.

There is an uproar when a database it breached and our personal information is found. When I look at what is available, just by having a smart phone in my possession, I realize my personal information is already available.

To have the world in my hands, easily accessible by a few keystrokes, means I, too, am easily. Has privacy become obsolete? Have we allowed Big Brother into our lives of our own accord?

Sort:  

I don't like how our phones and laptops, anything electronic tracks us.
Who has access to that information? And who do they share it with/

Disturbing to say the least.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60857.34
ETH 2383.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68