My life as a vegetarian

in #life6 years ago (edited)
Hello pretty people of Steemit, it has been a long time since my last post (A week more and less), today I am going to talk a little bit about my life in Venezuela as a vegetarian.


As long as I can remember, I have been a vegetarian, for cultural reasons (for several generations), basically I have never tasted meat of any kind (yes, fish is included in any type of meat), but I do use animal derivatives such as milk, cheese (life without cheesecake would be horrible), among others, however I firmly believe that if I had not been vegetarian since birth, at this time I would have become one because I love animals and I really can not bear the idea of them dying for me to have my food, when I have many other food options. Many have asked me if I do not feel desires or temptation to taste meat and the truth is that I don´t have it, at all and I never had it.


There are several myths about malnutrition and lack of health in vegetarian people, I have seen people, especially older people who do not agree with this type of nourishment in children because they claim that they will not have an appropriate growth, which is totally false since I am 25 years old and I am perfectly healthy, although it is true that sometimes we have to be very careful with what we consume because we tend unconsciously to choose more for carbohydrates and not consume enough protein, if we pay attention to it and replace it for protein sources of vegetable origin such as grains, there should be no problem.


In my case something that has been sometimes difficult is the part of eating out, because the options for vegetarians are very limited in Venezuela where unlike other countries, vegetarianism is not so common and therefore the shortage of options , however there will always be vegetarian pizza, cheese empanadas, Subway with vegetarian sandwich and with enough creativity you can always ask the chef to make changes in the menu where they replace the meat part for something else like vegetarian burger. (In the photo below I was at a hamburger place where I ordered my vegetarian option, but I do not have a picture of the hamburger).


The vegetarian diet is rich and varied, unlike the popular belief we do not consume only vegetables and our main meals do not always carry herbs and lettuce, there are endless vegetarian cooking options, you just have to try it, put your imagination to flight and it will be the beginning of a new experience. I hope you liked this article and if you want to become vegetarian then do it without fear, your health will not run risks, in fact it is considered really heathy and animal friendly.




Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by clockworkpriya from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56586.53
ETH 2392.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30