Living a Dream this week

in #life5 years ago

It has always been a dream of mine to see California. I was born and raised in Texas. I have always traveled east of Texas and north of Texas. Never in my 46 years have I had the opportunity to travel west. This week just out of nowhere someone offered me a job traveling to rancho Cucamonga California. I accepted and the adventure began. After 23 hours of driving through deserts and mountains my dream finally came true. My journey is far from complete but it is off to a great start.
After arriving here my job was delayed 48 hours. Staying in a decent hotel with mountain views. I ventured out with a few of my coworkers to see the area and try to meet some people. We are going to be here 7 weeks so why not make some cool new friends, try some culture, explore the cannabis shops. Apps are a great way to ask locals about things and meet new people. My coworkers and I started searching for sites to see, places to eat, people to meet as any good adventurers would. I like apps like POF, Whisper, MeetMe, and scout as I am a single male. While talking to people on whisper I came across a lady who had been living 4 days with no power, ac, or water in her shared apartment due to hard times and a deadbeat roommate. Born and raised as a Texas gentleman that was unexceptionable to hear. No way I would be able to lay my head down and rest without offering help. I offered this lady a place to shower, a meal, and some platonic friendship. She accepted and showed up at my hotel ragged and worn from the stress of her current situation. We spoke for a few minutes and I stepped out of my room so she could feel safe to shower and change into clean clothing. We grabbed a meal and I could start to see her stress fade away but her caution hadn't. I don't blame her...some random stranger offers you a place to shower and a meal..without motives...
She began to tell me all about her life and the things that lead to her current situation. Having survived a tramatic brain injury 3 years ago, a massive heart attack 18 months ago, and all the destruction those can do to a person's life, finances, relationships, I could see how she had ended up where she was. I have never been able to give up, quit, or back down in my life. No matter what life tosses at me I adapt and overcome. Action is key to any opsticle. Take some sort of action and any opsticle can be defeated. Take no action and you become overwhelmed, stressed, destroyed by it. We spoke about these things and she said she was starting to feel better about making changes to get out of her situation. I don't know if she truly will take the action needed but time will tell.
Kindness to others is a part of being human. We get caught up in the day to day struggles to make money, aquire possessions, build our empires that we forget to be kind. This world is a beautiful place but filled with scammers, thieves, and evil souls. I believe with all my heart that being kind and sharing what I have without expectation can make a impact even if it's a small impact. My dream didn't include this person or her problems but I hope that my impact on her will help her dreams come true.

This adventure is only just beginning so no end to this story yet. I will update as my time her goes on.
If you enjoyed reading about my life then please grant me this favor......be kind to someone, share a meal with a stranger, offer a little bit of your excess to someone less fortunate and make your own impact. God bless you and thank you for your support

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Encouraging story! I have the same philosophy about action in life and helping others!

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 2.63% upvote from us for your 340 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59111.01
ETH 2441.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45