My baby’s have baby’s of their own. And it makes me very happy!!

in #life8 years ago

I think there are not many steemians who have grandchildren. I do. To be exact, I have three grandchildren. Two girls ( 4 and 1 ½ years old) and one grandson. He is 6 weeks old.

meandsam

It’s a very emotional thing, grandchildren. The son or daughter you gave birth to has a child of their own. It’s like the Russian matrousjka’s (you know the Russian dolls who fit together), because it may be going on and on. It gives you also the feeling that you are a chain in a necklace of time. It’s making you humble and proud at the same time.

Once I was a little girl and a granddaughter of my grandparents. The grandparents were born at the end of the 19th century and are long gone. Even my parents are no longer alive. And I, that little girl from so long ago, am a grandmother now and one day my grandchildren will remember me as the old lady (I am not old in my own view, but I am speaking from the perspective of a little child), who came to visit them and where they came to visit and play games and went to museums and so on. It makes you feel like you are moving up in the family chain. One day I will be only a picture on the wall (if indeed!)

It’s also so different to have grandchildren instead of children of your own. With my own children I was never so worried as with my grandchildren. Worried that something might happen when they are under my care and I am extremely cautious. I had three children of my own and I don’t remember to be so worried about what might happen as I am with my grandchildren.

It’s also very funny to hear my son (the one with the two daughters) tell me how to change diapers and listen to my daughter as she tells me how to make a bottle for her little son. They both had no idea about how to handle a baby before they got their own child, and now they are telling me, an experienced mother, how to do things! It is also very emotional to listen to them, they speak with so much love and involvement and I listen to them carefully and do exactly as they tell me to do, and I enjoy every moment!!

My baby’s have baby’s of their own. And it makes me very happy!!

Sort:  

I'm at the same life stage as you. I have three grown children and four grandchildren....one just new. Being a grandmother is a lot different than being a mom and both of these experiences can only be appreciated by those who have been thee. My children's children are too young yet for my kids to appreciate the fullness of parenting. When your baby's have baby's it's very hard to describe with words. It's pure unnamed emotion.

You are so right!! It's a special kind of emotion and it's a privilege to know both the emotion to have children and to have grandchildren. Glad to know another grandmother on Steemit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60364.09
ETH 2378.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57