What words or concepts did you misunderstand as a child?

in #life7 years ago

When I was a child I thought ‘cannon’ and ‘canyon’ were the same word, and if someone said “that word” I would ask did they mean the kind you can buy in a store (meaning a cannon, for some reason.)

I thought that The Beatles were miniature people singing from inside our huge speaker cabinet.
speaker cabinet.jpg

I thought hippies were magical creatures like elves, gnomes or fairies, that they all had long hair, went barefoot and lived outdoors. I would tell my best friend, who believed the same thing, that I had once spotted a band of hippies in the park and we were both awed by this “supernatural” encounter. girls-839809_640.jpg
Photo Credit: Pixabay royalty free. Photographer: Free-Photos

I thought that only married couples had sex, and only did it once for each child at the doctor’s office under his guidance. Yes, I thought it was a medical procedure.doctor.PublicDomainPictures.jpg
Photo Credit: Pixabay royalty free. Photographer: PublicDomainPictures

Because my mother’s friend who was Chinese and spoke Chinese (Mandarin) lived in a nearby town called Hightstown I thought that Chinese was the language they spoke in the next town over from us in New Jersey.

We used to go on vacation in Santa Barbara when I was a child and we'd rent a house in a residential neighborhood, so I would make new friends with children on our block. One year when I was around 5 we got to our new rental house and I went outside and met some kids. One girl excitedly invited me to the bonfire they were having on the beach. I was horrified and ran to warn my parents that someone was going to be setting off a "BOMB-fire" that night and we had better stay several blocks away to avoid being injured. nuclear-weapons-test-WikiImages.jpg

Sort:  

Nice one dude

Thanks! Do you remember thinking anything funny when you were a kid?

nice post. last pic awesome

Yes lol that's how I thought the "bomb" would be.

it's always great to read your articles, child period the best ever.

Thank you very much!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Clemdane from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Hippies are magical creatures, although they are almost extinct now. They were hunted for their long shiny hair and were used in Hollywood movies to attract a huge crowd that would pay to see mediocre movies.

As of recent stats, there is only a handful of them remaining now, living under heavy disguise in the slum beaches of India and the snowy mountains of Himalaya in search of a safe home.

Thanks very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82