DIY: Essential Oil Air Freshener (LOVE!)

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemits friends!

Living in small spaces and cooking often (and having a precious fur baby!) is not the best mix for a fresh smelling household. I occasionally use soy candles and/or diffusers but I really wanted to find a nice spray for smell good touch ups and to keep our couch, chairs and linens fresh. There are about a billion sprays out there. 99% of them (like many store-bought products), have a ton of questionable ingredients. I'm very sensitive to smells so I needed something easy and simple with only a few ingredients and a gentle scent. As an essential oil enthusiast, I knew there had to be a way to incorporate my favorite oils into a household air freshener. I've found the easiest and cheapest way to make your own at home that actually works. Check out my DYI recipe below and spray away...

Clean Karma’s Essential Oil Air Freshener: Yield varies

1 spray bottle (any size that works for you)

2 parts water

1 part alcohol (rubbing or a very cheap vodka)

10-20 drops (depending on the bottle and how strong you want the scent to be) of your favorite essential oil. I LOVE geranium and lavender. A citrus would also be nice, especially in the summer months.

Mix all ingredients together. Shake before use and spray ANYWHERE. On couches, rugs, linens etc are best as they're absorbed quickly and last longer but in a pinch you can also just spray liberally in the air for a quick fix. Store in a cool place.

download.jpeg

download (2).jpeg

Sort:  

Awesome idea, I need to do this for my house. I love DIY projects like this.

Thank you @healthyrecipe! Let me know how it goes :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59007.49
ETH 2658.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44